JT Jaguars, Livingstone Promoted To National Basketball League

JT Jaguars and Livingstone have secured promotion to the 2024 National Basketball League (NBL).

JT Jaguars triumphed over Victoria University, while Livingstone clinched a hard-fought victory against Nkumba Marines, both teams excelling 2-1 in the best-of-three semifinals series.

These remarkable achievements mark the replacement of UPDF Tomahawks and Rezlife Saints, who were relegated from the NBL the previous season.

Notably, JT Jaguars now stand alongside their sister club, JT Lady Jaguars, in the upper echelons of Uganda’s basketball league system, reflecting the franchise’s impressive growth since breaking away from JKL Dolphins two seasons ago.

JT Jaguars’ debut in Division One this season has been nothing short of spectacular, winning 28 out of 30 regular-season games, paving their way to success after claiming the Division Two championship the previous season.

Their journey to promotion included a convincing sweep of Miracle Eagles 74-52 and 78-61 in the quarterfinals.

They then clinched a hard-fought 2-1 series win against Victoria University in the semis, culminating in a thrilling 61-58 victory in game three, securing their place in the NBL.

Yesman Bushiri, previously at JKL Dolphins, hit 13 points, George Agasi had 17 rebounds while Kevin Moru and Ian Lubwama added 11 points each in game three win

In a parallel narrative, Livingstone, having narrowly missed promotion the previous season despite an unbeaten regular season, battled through the playoffs, ultimately overcoming Nkumba Marines in a gripping series to secure their well-earned place in the National Basketball League.

Bismarck Okot’s double-double performance of 21 points and 10 rebounds , complemented by outstanding contributions from Joshua Namutegere (14 points) and Bruce Akullo (14pts, 10rebs) proved instrumental in Livingstone’s decisive victory, sealing their promotion with a compelling 72-66 win in game three.

JT Jaguars and Livingstone will be facing off in the fight for Division One Championship title.

JT Jaguars roster – Mark Were, Clement Kabangu, Ian Lubwama, Benjamin Shango, George Agasi, Churtbert Nkoba, Kevin Moru, Victor Bwana, Aaron Ebonyu, Philip Owili, Abubakar Kasasa, Yesman Bushiri

Livingstone – Diopa Durocher, Joshua Namutegere, Bismarck Okot, Bruce Akullo, Abel Emwodu, Michael Abili, Oscar Byomuhanga, Derrick Otim, Moise Zahinda, Ivan Eyangu, Isaac Athuai, Bravo Kalibbala



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *