CECAFA U15: Zanzibar Dethrone Uganda Rhinos

Zanzibar triumphed over Uganda in post match penalties to claim the 2023 CECAFA U-15 Boys Championship Title.

Uganda lost 3-4 in penalties following a one-all draw in the final played at the FUFA Technical Centre in Njeru on Friday, November 16.

In the final, Omar Lukman, in the 19th minute scored the first goal of the game to put Zanzibar ahead. Ten minutes later, Ibra Ssebagala equalised for the hosts.

The game ended 1-1 and went up to post match spot kicks in which Zanzibar did better than Uganda as Ronald Kigoye and Ratib Gulanyago missed their spot kicks while Fahad Hassan missed the only one for Zanzibar.

Uganda Rhinos’ Owen Mukisa was named the Most Valuable Player of the Tournament (MVP), whereas South Sudan’s Lazarus Peter George was the top scorer with eight goals.

FUFA President Hon. Moses Magogo was present to witness Zanzibar being crowned as this edition’s champions at the expense of hosts Uganda.

The hosts had won all their games until they met Zanzibar. The Uganda Rhinos couldn’t defend their regional title they won in 2019, thanks to Zanzibar’s resilience.

Uganda settled for silver, as Tanzania finished third after defeating South Sudan 1-0 in the third place playoff to take bronze.

The tournament attracted eight countries including Uganda, Zanzibar, Rwanda, Tanzania, Somalia, South Sudan, Djibouti and Ethiopia.

How Both Teams Lined Up:

Uganda: Edrisah Waibi (GK), Samuel Mubiru, Ratib Gulanyago, Abubakali Walusimbi©️, Simon Wanyama, Richard Okello, Pius Oyirwoth, Owen Mukisa, Ibra Ssebagala, Ronald Kigoye, Enock Bagenda

Substitutes: Ashraf Lukyamuzi (GK), Moses Kasule, Tom Ssessazi, Musa Akbar, Frank Ssekanjako, Arafat Nkoola, Disan Mwebe, Thomas Ogema, Abdulshakur Babi

Zanzibar: Mahir Amour (GK), Ashraf Othman, Mwinyi Hassan, AbdulNassir Makarani, Lukman Omar, Mohamed Nasser, Saleh Mbarouk, AndulHafidh Salmin, Mohamed Mohamed ©️, Hussein Mbegu, Hassan Iddi

Substitutes: Nassir Hassan (GK), Mohamed Shaaban, Abdallah Mohd, Abdulbasit Abdulrahman, Adam Shaaban, Khamis Mbarouk, Fahad Khamis, Fahad Hassan, Fasbir Ramadhan



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *