Gaddafi Beat Mbarara City On Wasswa Bbosa’s Return

Saturday, November 11
•Gaddafi 2-1 Mbarara City
•Maroons 0-1 NEC

Gaddafi snatched a hard-fought 2-1 win against Mbarara City on Saturday in a gripping encounter on match-day seven of the 2023/24 Uganda Premier League season.

Benson Muhindo and Joshua Kaka found the net for the hosts, overshadowing Joseph Akandwanaho’s lone goal for Mbarara City at the Gaddafi Arena.

The triumph held particular significance as it thwarted Mbarara City’s head coach, Wasswa Bbosa, from experiencing a triumphant return to Gaddafi—a team he parted ways with before the commencement of the current season.

The game’s turning point occurred in the 42nd minute when Muhindo expertly converted a penalty, capitalizing on a contested decision that went in favor of Gaddafi.

However, the Ankole Lions, undeterred, swiftly responded before halftime when Captain Akandwanaho headed in, connecting flawlessly with Pius Kaggwa’s precision delivery.

Gaddafi reestablished their lead a mere four minutes into the second half when substitute Kaka slotted in a goal.

It was a well-worked goal as Kaka had receiving a precise assist from Steven Munguchi, who had left his marker crawling.

This marks the second consecutive triumph for David Mutono’s charges, building on their 3-0 victory over NEC at Lugogo.

Overall, it’s the third win for the side, propelling them to eighth place with nine points after seven games.

On the flip side, this encounter dealt Mbarara City their initial defeat since the league opener against NEC.

And with seven points accumulated from as many games, Mbarara City will hope to rebound from this setback after the International break.

What Next – Gaddafi will host resurgent Bright Stars on November 23 while Mbarara City will welcome SC Villa at Kakyeka on the same day.

Players Used

Gaddafi – Andrew Ssekandi, Ibrahim Kiyemba, Ronald Bithum, Steven Munguchi, Amos Kirya, Franco Balabala, Frank Mulimi, Johnson Odong, Thomas Ochungo, Willis Otong, Benson Muhindo

Mbarara City – Hakimu Nsamba, Joseph Akandwanaho, Karim Ramathan, Bakali Magumba, Francis Odongo, Pius Kaggwa, Yunus Sibira, Johny Mugweri, Innocent Wafula, Richard Wandyaka, Hussein Mwanje



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *