Big League: Blacks Power Edge Onduparaka In Lira

Sunday, September 24 FT results;

•Ndejje University 3-4 Kaaro Karungi
•Calvary 2-0 Kigezi Homeboyz
•Blacks Power 1-0 Onduparaka
•Kyetume 3-1 Kiyinda Boys

Debutant Fred Mulumba fired Blacks Power FC to a perfect start in this FUFA Big League campaign, scoring the only goal of the game as the Lira-based side registered a 1-0 win against Onduparaka at Aki Bua stadium.

It was both teams’ first game of the season, and Onduparaka will make a long trip back to Arua with no point at all, but lessons to learn from.

The home side bagged all three points, and got that all-important winner with less than 15 minutes left on the clock, as second half substitute Mulumba broke the deadlock in the 78th minute.

The goal was also his first for the club, and it specially came on his debut, infront of the Lira home fans.

For Blacks Power, new recruits Innocent Maduka, Paul Oonyu and Isaac Okello were all handed their full debuts at home.

On the other hand, debutants Jimmy Kanakulya, Michael Ajiga, Junior Andama, Brian Ade and Faizul Ssekyanzi all started for the visiting Caterpillars.

Within the first 45 minutes, chances were created on both ends, but there were no goals scored.

Maduka and Oonyu got the closest to make things happen for the home side, but both couldn’t find the back of the net with their shots.

Into the second half, and there were still no serious threats on either side. After an hour played, Mulumba replaced Oonyu in the second half and scored just minutes on to seal the deal for the home side.

Both teams played in the top division last season, but suffered relegation, and now want to make an instant return to the Uganda Premier League.

Next, Blacks Power will travel away to Mbale to face Kataka on 1st October as Onduparaka will host Kyetume at the Greenlight Stadium in Arua in the same date.

How both teams lined up:

Blacks Power starting XI; Tonny Kyamera (GK), Simon Misaki Opio (C), Jackson Wabuleta, Daniel Otim, Ivan Okello, Innocent Maduka, Jamal Malish, Franco Onen, Micheal Siwu, Elias Paul Emokori Oonyu and Isaac Okello.

Subs; John Omagor, Charles Bob Akena, Haron Odongo, Paul Musamali, Rajab Fazil, Emmanuel Odongo and Fred Mulumba.

Onduparaka starting XI; Jimmy Kanakulya (GK), Alex Adriko, Michael Ajiga, Rashid Yakini, Bernard Ndifuna, Malish Mandela, Junior Andama, Boy Fazilinho, Brian Ade, Faisul Ssekyanzi and Bida Ezra.

Subs; Mathias Okello, Dominic Abonga, Mahad Swaleh, Ceasar Okhuti and Jimmy Pirio.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *