Kitara Overcome UPDF in Masindi

Friday, September 22
URA 2-0 Gaddafi
NEC 5-0 Busoga
Kitara 1-0 UPDF

Kitara FC held on to a 1-0 Victory over UPDF FC in their first home game on return to Uganda Premier League at a muddy Masindi Stadium.

Kawagu Christopher’s first half own goal was the difference between the two sides.

The match was delayed for fifteen minutes after heavy down pour in Masindi.

This is Kitara’ second win in as many games since returning to the top flight after a 2-1 away win at SC Villa.

It’s also the Royals’ maiden win over UPDF in the Uganda Premier League.

The result sees Brian Ssenyondo haunt his former side after joining at the start of the season.

The hosts made their intensions known by making early threats in the soggy Masindi Stadium.

But Brian Aheebwa and Denis Omedi both failed to benefit from early opportunities as Kitara searched for an opening.

The visitors settled into the match and could have taken the lead but Zzinda Hussein saw his low strike pushed off the post.

Kaija Derrick couldn’t make the rebound count after his effort was blocked by Kitara Captain Owachgiu Maxwell.

Kitara drew the first blood in the 39th minute through Kawagu’s own goal who miscued a Solomon Okwalinga teasing ball.

The second half was open to both sides as they pressed to find the back of the net.

The first chance of the final stanza fell to Faridi Rashid who hit the post from a Badru Nsimbe pass.

On the other side, Omedi had his goal ruled out for offside.

What Next

They will both return to action on Friday 29th as Kitara FC travel away to Gaddafi FC at the Gaddafi Arena while UPDF FC host Wakiso Giants at the Bombo Barracks Ground.

How they started

Kitara FC XI: Chrispus Kusiima (GK), Owachgiu Maxwell, Jasper Aheebwa, Ibrahim Magaandazi, Benjamin Nyakoojo, Okello Donato, Frank Zaga Tumwesigye, Paul Mucureezi, Solomon Okwalinga, Brian Aheebwa, Denis Omedi.

SUBS: Yawe Farouk (GK), Hamim Semakula, Muber Erick, Kabon Living, Byabachwezi Derrick, Kasozi Samson, Jude Ssemugabi, George Senkaba, Bwambale Lazaro, Sabir Yasin.

UPDF FC XI: Yusuf Wasswa (GK), Kawagu Christopher, Oscar Agaba, Aggrey Kirya, Vuni Bright Joseph, Adriko Rogers, Sam Kintu, Zzinda Hussein, Achumu Faridi Rashid, Badru Nsimbe Jibril, Derrick Kaija.

SUBS: Okidi Jimmy (GK), Bernard Muwanga, Muwadda Mawejje, Henry Penza Tenywa, Gerald Kimuli, Kawooya Edward, Shugai Kalisa.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *