Big League: Booma, Jinja North share Spoils in Opener

Thursday, September 21
*Booma FC 1-1 Jinja North United

Booma FC and Jinja North United played out a one all draw as the new season of the FUFA Big League got underway at the Masindi Stadium.

Debutants for both sides grabbed the headlines as they registered their names on the scoresheet.

Dickson Niwamanya who joined from Arua Hill put Booma FC in the lead before former Blacks Power forward Bronson Nsubuga equalised for Jinja North United.

This is the third meeting between the clubs, and just like the previous two, it has also ended in a draw.

The opening exchanges of the game were cagey with both teams struggling to create opportunities.

However, Booma FC started to dominate once they settled into the game.

And their dominance finally paid off in the 15th minute when Niwamanya raced on a through pass from Amos Muwonge to out muscle the defender and slot past the Goalkeeper.

Five minutes into the second half, the Visitors restored parity through Nsubuga who scored from the rebound after Salim Huud’s initial shot was saved by the Goalkeeper.

Nsubuga could have put the visitors in front but he lobbed the ball over the bar after he was found by Mataama Dickson with the keeper-to-beat chance.

Kasirye Ahmed’s header went wide as the hosts pressed to restore there lead before Wabulo Emmanuel was gifted with the last chance of the game in the added minutes sent his curler over the bar to the disappointments of his teammates.

What next

Booma FC will return to action on Sunday 1st October away to Kaaro Karungi at the st George’s Arena in Ibanda while Jinja North United will host Police FC at Kyabazinga Stadium Bugembe on Saturday 30th.

Players Used

Booma FC XI: Muhindo Aslamu(GK), Enjama Richard, Kizza Douglas, Allan Mugalu, Lucio Muteesa Jonathan, Muwonge Amos, Niwamanya Dickson, Kisakye Ahmed, Arnold Sserunjogi, Sempija John Bosco.

SUBS: Afoyo (GK), Ashraf Ali, Edison Agondeze, Wabulo Emmanuel, Ekellot Ibrahim, Kigongo Ronald

Jinja North United XI: Mugolofa Mutwalib (GK), Wanja Joseph, Basoga Derrick, Mwanje Samuel, Kiiza Jonah, Nduga Lawrence, Nsubuga Bronson, Kyeyune Umar, Salim Huud, Luzige Nicholas, Ssenyonga Johnson.

SUBS: Mukibi Isaac, Kateregga Benald, Magombe Hakim, Wasswa Shaban, Mataama Dickson, Isejja Deo, Amos Etoji.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *