Mbarara City Squad: Akandwanaho Named Captain

New signing Joseph Akandwanaho has been named the captain of Mbarara City.

Akandwanaho joined the Ankole Lions in this transfer window after ending his stay at Express FC.

He will be deputized by Karim Ramathan and Henry Musisi as the club under Wasswa Bbosa make a return in the Uganda Premier League.

The side has also confirmed their 26-man Squad for the 2023/2024 campaign.

Richard Wandyaka who was signed as a free agent after the end of his contract with Super Eight champions BUL FC was handed shirt number 23.

Wandyaka was strongly linked with a move to Gaddafi before the deal fell through.

Mbarara City were promoted to the top flight after finishing second in the FUFA Big League under Coach Sadiq Ssempiji who since joined Jinja North United.

Other new signings in the squad are Magumba Bakali, Odongo Francis, Pius Kaggwa, Mutebi Ronald, Othieno Steven, Yunus Sibira, Joel Abaliwano, Wafula Innocent among others.

The Mbarara based side received good news earlier this week when there home ground Kakyeka Stadium was approved for hosting matches after they were initially scheduled to use Bombo Barracks Ground as there home ground.

Mbarara City will kickoff there campaign as they host fellow new entrants NEC FC at the Kakyeka Stadium on Friday 15th September.

Mbarara City FC 2023/2024 Squad

Wycliffe Mori Manja 1
Karim Ramathan 2
Otude Ivan 3
Magumba Bakali 4
Musisi Henry 5
Odongo Francis 6
Edwok Francis 7
Jungu Methodius 8
Kitegenyi Henry 9
Pius Kaggwa 10
Sadat Nsubuga 11
Mutebi Ronald 12
Othieno Steven 13
Sunday Godfrey 14
Yunus Sibira 15
Mugweri Johny Rubi 16
Akadwanaho Joseph 17
Jamie Kisitu Nvule 18
Nsamba Hakim 19
Frank Kasumba 20
Joel Abaliwano 21
Wafula Innocent 22
Wandyaka Richard 23
Namasa Edward 24
Mwanje Hussein 25
Arigumaho Seiri 29



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *