Gambia Latest To Qualify for 2023 AFCON

Sunday, September 10
•Togo 3-2 Cape Verde
•Nigeria 6-0 Sao Tome & Principe
•Gambia 2-2 Congo

Monday, September 11
•Guinea Bissau Vs Sierra Leone

Tuesday, September 12
•Cameroon Vs Burundi

Gambia have qualified to 2023 Africa Cup of Nations after an outstanding comeback against Congo in a Group G qualification clash.

The Gambia went into their last group game needing a draw against Congo who needed a win to seal qualification.

And the game looked evenly poised as it was played at a neutral venue in Marrakech, Morocco (despite recent Earthquake).

Congo were on course for a remarkable win but Gambia scored twice in the final 10 minutes to secure a hard-fought 2-2 draw.

Congo took a 2-0 lead before halftime thanks to goals from Gaius Makouta and Silvere M’Boussy.

But the Gambia came back the better team in second half through Yankuba Minteh in the 80th minute before Muhammed Badamosi scored in the first minute of added time.

This result meant Gambia move second in Group G with 10 points behind Mali on 15 points who also qualified earlier.

Congo and South Sudan fail to earn the qualification tickets.

It’s the second time that Gambia, a smallest mainland country on the Continent, qualify for AFCON after their debut in 2021.

In the other group game, Victor Osimhen scored a hat-trick as Nigeria beat Sao Tome & Principe 6-0.

Ademola Lookman, Taiwo Awoniyi, and Samuel were also on target for the Super Eagles.

Elsewhere, Togo, already eliminated, came from 2-0 down to beat Cape Verde who had gone ahead through Kevin Pina and Gilson Benchimol.

CAF, on Saturday, postponed the Qualifier match between Morocco and Liberia following the earthquake in Morocco which resulted in more than 800 people losing their lives and hundreds injured.

On Monday, Guinea Bissau face Sierra Leone in Group A which is already decided.

On Tuesday, Cameroon welcome Burundi, with the winner qualifying for AFCON.

Countries that have qualified for AFCON:

Group A – Nigeria, Guinea Bissau

Group B – Burkina Faso, Cape Verde

Group C – Undecided – (Namibia, Cameroon or Burundi)

Group D – Egypt, Guinea

Group E – Ghana, Angola

Group F – Algeria, Tanzania

Group G – Mali, Gambia

Group H – Zambia, Ivory Coast

Group I – DR Congo, Mauritania

Group J – Tunisia, Equatorial Guinea

Group K – South Africa, Morocco

Group L – Senegal, Mozambique



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *