Jinja SS Win Boys Schools Cricket Week

Jinja SS crowned champions of the Boys Schools Cricket Week

Jinja SS overcame a spirited Nyakasura School side in the finals of the Sky View Boys Schools Cricket Week to win the trophy that had eluded them for seven years.

The Mighty School won the toss and went for the bat, but despite their batting prowess, they were able to post just 118 runs while losing all their wickets.

Jinja SS’ top order of Richard Sohera, Hassan Bagaga and Ronald Magezi was ducked inside the third Over, and even when Pius Oloka tried to steady the ship, he lacked support from his partners.

Oloka came short of a half century by 3 runs, and when he got bowled by Mark Ruhwera in the 8th Over, Nyakasura who lost last year’s final to Busoga College, Mwiri knew they would restrict Habib Mugalula’s team to a score chasable.

But it did not turn out like they had hoped. Nyakasura captained by Joseph Baguma got the chase to a very good start. Although they lost two wickets inside power play, the runs on board at that stage read 45.

The game at this point was for Nyakasura to lose. But when Jinja SS captain Paul Mulongo introduced Sohera to the attack in the eighth Over, things took a different turn.

The spinner picked his first wicket in his first Over, and went on to pick three more including Ruhwera and Richard Busobozi who he got in his third Over.

Baguma and Nathan Musulizi stuck in the wicket but their partnership couldn’t get Nyakasura over the line. By the time Peter Ocen came to bowl the last Over, it was game down for Nyakasura as 18 runs were needed from 6 balls.

Jinja SS lifted the trophy but non of their players won an individual award.

The MVP award went to Kololo SS’ Christopher Kidega who notched 2371 points. Jacob Malinga from Teso College won the best batter’s award while Kidega’s teammate Aziz Tandia took home the best bowler’s award.

The duo of Masaka SS, Geoffrey Kakaire and Naziruh Kiggwe were named the best fielder abs wicket-keeper respectively.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *