CECAFA U18: Ayub Khalifa Names Uganda Final Squad

The Uganda U18 Women’s National Team has left the country to take part in the CECAFA Women U18 Championship that will take place from 25th July to 3rd August in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania.

The contingent, led by FUFA EXCOM member Agness Mugena departed Entebbe International Airport on Sunday morning (2:45AM) aboard Ethiopian Airlines.

The group of 33 consists of 13 officials, plus head coach Ayub Khalifa Kiyingi’s confirmed and trusted final 20 players to do the job, including three goalkeepers, seven defenders, five midfielders, and five forwards.

Notably, seven of the 20 players are from Kawempe Muslim Ladies FC, distributed as two defenders, three midfielders and two forwards.

Uganda Martyrs is represented by four players, including a goakeeper, a defender and two forwards.

Rines SS has three players in the team, and a player each from Tooro Queens, Asubo Gafford Ladies, Amus College School, Taggy High School, Wakiso Hill WFC and Kampala Queens.

Some of the players who were summoned on the initial list will have to stay back and watch from home, with attacker Catherine Nagadya being the most notable omission.

Goalkeeper Lillian Nakirya, midfielder Faridah Namirimu and forward Sumayah Namirimu are all missing on the final squad list.

Kawempe Muslim’s Monica Nanono, who didn’t appear on the initial list has made the final cut.

The Championship will have five teams competing including Uganda, hosts Tanzania, Ethiopia, Burundi and Zanzibar with games played in a round robbin format.

Travelling Squad

Goalkeepers – Bridget Nansamba (Rines SS WFC), Sharon Norah Kaidu (Uganda Martyrs Lubaga WFC), Cecilia Kamuli (FC Tooro Queens)

Defenders – Patricia Nakato Nanyanzi (Rines SS WFC), Sharifah Nakimera (Kawempe Muslim Ladies FC), Patience Nabulobi (Kampala Queens FC), Charity Katusiime (Taggy High School), Rebecca Nandhengo (Uganda Martyrs Lubaga WFC), Desire Katisi Natooro (Amus College School), Hadijah Namakula (Kawempe Muslim Ladies FC)

Midfielders – Patricia Nayiga (Wakiso Hill WFC), Kulusum Namutebi (Kawempe Muslim Ladies FC), Phionah Nabulime (Kawempe Muslim Ladies FC), Agnes Nabukenya (Kawempe Muslim Ladies FC), Immaculate Odaru (Rines SS WFC)

Forwards – Allen Nassazi (Kawempe Muslim Ladies FC), Shamsa Najjuma (Uganda Martyrs Lubaga WFC), Brenda Munyana (Uganda Martyrs Lubaga WFC), Kamiyati Naigaga (Asubo Gafford Ladies FC), Monica Nanono (Kawempe Muslim Ladies FC)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *