CAF Champions League: Al Ahly Kings of Africa For 11th Time

Sunday, June 11
•Wydad Casablanca (Morocco) 1-1 Al Ahly (Egypt)

*Al Ahly win 3-2 on aggregate

Al Ahly picked a needed draw against Wydad Casablanca in the CAF Champions League final second leg to win the title for a record extending 11th time.

The Egyptian giants win the tie 3-2 on aggregate having won the first leg 2-1 in Cairo.

Wydad were on course for a triumph when they led 1-0 courtesy of Yatya Attiat Allah’s goal in the first half.

But Al Ahly found a 78th-minute equaliser through Mohamed Abdelmoneim to silence the home fans at Mohamed V Complex in Morocco.

Abdelmoneim headed home an Ali Maaloul corner after making a good run at near post to spark wild celebration from the travelling fans.

It’s revenge best served by Al Ahly who lost to Wydad in last year’s final 2-0 which was played under one-leg format.

Al Ahly finished second in Group B behind Mamelodi Sundowns, and later knocked out Raja Casablanca (Morocco) and ES Tunis (Tunisia) in Quarter and semifinal respectively.

They have won the CAF Champions League 11 times, with Zamalek (Egypt) and TP Mazembe (DR Congo) a distant joint-second having won it five times each.

Al Ahly will now shift focus to the Egyptian Premier League league where they sit second, two points behind Pyramids who have played six games more.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *