URA, UPDF Share Spoils In Lugazi

Friday 12th May
Onduparaka 1-1 Vipers
Busoga United 0-0 Wakiso Giants

URA were held to a one-all draw by UPDF in the Startimes Uganda Premier League game at the Mehta stadium in Lugazi.

Ivan Ahimbisibwe cancelled out Vianne Ssekajuko’s opener in the first half for the game to end in stalement.

This was the same result in the reverse fixture at the Bombo Barracks Ground.

URA are now winless in their last four matches, however they stretch their unbeaten run over UPDF to seven games.

For UPDF, they are now six points above 14-placed Blacks Power who occupies the last place in the relegation zone.

With three games to the end of the campaign, UPDF need just six points to save their season, however those points will reduce if Blacks Power slips.

Ssekajuko gave URA an early lead in the 4th minute tapping from Najib Fesali header off Lubwama Joshua cornerkick.

The hosts could have added their tally but neither Dada Ibrahim nor Kabon Living could capitalise.

In the 28th minute, URA was punished for not killing off the game when Ahimbisibwe pegged them back with a header.

Dada could have restored URA’ lead but his header was easily tamed by Goalkeeper Derrick Were after Vianne Ssekajuko capitalised on a defensive error.

Just like it was in the first half, the hosts were not clinical infront of the goal in the second half.

Saidi Kyeyune halftime substitute who came on for Joshua Lubwama had his attempt go over the bar as well as Dada.

Kabonge Nicholas was denied by the Goalkeeper who pushed away his powerful shot.

URA drops to 6th with 36 points after 26 games while UPDF are on 24 points in 25 games.

What Next

URA will return to action against Gadaffi FC at Mehta stadium on Tuesday 23rd.

UPDF will host SC Villa on Tuesday 16th at Bombo Barracks Ground.

Line Ups

URA XI: Nafian Alionzi (GK), Najib Fesali, Eric Ssenjobe, Hassan Kalega, Nicholas Kabonge, Viane Ssekajuko, Kabon Living, Derrick Ndahiro, Patrick Mbowa, Lubwama Joshua, Ibrahim Dada.

SUBS: Yusuf Wasswa (GK), James Begesa, Alfred Leku, Saidi Kyeyune, Kigongo Ronald, Joseph Ssemujju, Mawa.

UPDF XI: Were Derrick (GK), Stephen Othieno, Oyirwoth Daglas, Bernard Muwanga, Moses Kiggundu, Adriko Rogers, Ibrahim Wammanah, Yiga Frank, Mugisha Rogers, Nsimbe Badru Jibril, Ivan Ahimbisibwe.

SUBS: Simon Mabuya (GK), Abasi Kyeyune, Gerald Kimuli, Kamagu Christopher, Swalik Ssegujja, Aluma Musa.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *