URA Deny Vipers at Kitende

Uganda Premier League
Saturday April 22nd
Vipers SC 1-1 URA FC
Arua Hill 2-1 Gaddafi

URA FC denied Vipers maximum points following their 1-all draw in a game held under floodlights at the St. Mary’s stadium Kitende on Saturday.

Karim Ndugwa’s 29th minute goal cancelled out Patrick Mbowa’s 13th minute opener as both sides settled for a point.

The draw saw Vipers miss a chance to go second and also closing down the gap at the top. They remained third with 36 points after 19 games.

For the Tax Collectors, it was a vital point for them and more so at an enemy territory.

Playing away from home, URA showed early intent to score first as they dorminated from word go.

And it wasn’t a surprise when they scored first in the 13th minute through Mbowa, who benefited from as nice interplay from Kabonge, before sending a powerful shot that beat goalkeeper Fabien Mutumbora.

But Vipers, who were a goal down remained composed and started their search for an equaliser.

And in the 29th minute, Ndugwa capitalised from a lazy mistake from URA goalkeeper Nafian Alionzi to slot in home, bringing his side back into the game.

Before the break, both sides had a share of chances in what was an end to end affair.

Vipers Abubaker Lawal missed a keeper to beat while Milton Karisa and Ndugwa all came close.

On the other end, Mbowa was denied on two occasions while Kabonge and Alfred Leku came close.

In the second stanza, it was the Tax Collectors that had more chances to kill off the game.

Mbowa, who scored the game’s opening goal headed wide Lubwama’s perfect delivery before the later’s free kick went wide late in the game.

For Vipers, they failed to live to their best on a day they struggled throughout the entire night.

And Alex Isabirye’s major worry will be the forced injury substitutions of both captain Milton Karisa and Yunus Sentamu, who were stretched off before the break.

How they Lined Up
Vipers – Fabian Mutombora GK, Ashraf Mandela, Isa Mubiru, Livingstone Mulondo, Hillary Mukundane, Frank Zaga Tumwesigye, Siraje Sentamu, Milton Karisa, Yunus Sentamu, Karim Ndugwa, Abubaker Lawal.

URA FC- Nafian Alionzi GK, James Begisa Penz, Derrick Ndahiro, Hudu Mulikyi, Najib Fesali, Patrick Mbowa, Dada Ibrahim, Joshua Lubwama, Alfred Leku, Nicholas Kabonge, Kabon Living



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *