City Oilers: 12-man Squad For BAL Revealed

Oilers Fixture
*April 27: Petro De Luanda
*April 28: Al Ahly
*May 2: SLAC
*May 5: CFV Beira
*May 6: Cape Town

Eight-time Ugandan champions City Oilers have confirmed their roster for their debut season at the Basketball Africa League (BAL).

The Oilers are pitted in the Nile Conference that will take place in Cairo due April 26 – May 27.

The squad of 12 players include the big addition of Guard James Justice Jr who has been plying his trade with Gezira (Egypt).

Foreign-based Germaine Roebuck, William Ngor and Fallando Jones have been recalled having been part of the team that played qualifiers last year in November in Cape Town.

These are joined by local-based players including Abdulhakim Ghedi, a son to team Manager Hajji Muhammad Santur.

New signings Fayed Bbaale, Titus Lual and Edrine Walujjo have made the roster, the latter who joined from UPDF a surprise inclusion.

Tonny Drilleba, Jimmy Enabu, James Okello and Ivan Muhwezi who have been part of the Oilers BAL qualifiers in the last three editions, are also in the team.

Veteran Guard Ben Komakech, Henry Mulira, Ceasar Kizito, Allawi Ssenkubuge, Michael Ngut and Luak Ruai have been dropped.

South Sudanese pair of Ruai and Ngut have been outstanding in the league, but could not make the cut partly because of restriction on Nationality.

The team must have at least eight Ugandans (Nationals). Not more than two African Passport holders and not more than two American Passport holders.

The team is scheduled to fly out to Egypt on Saturday morning (April 22).

City Oilers are in Nile Conference group that also has Al Ahly (Egypt), Cape Town Tigers (South Africa), Petro De Luanda (Angola), CFV Beira (Mozambique) and SLAC (Guinea).

The top four teams from this conference will join the top four from Sahara Conference for the BAL Playoffs and Finals, which will feature a single-elimination tournament at BK Arena in Kigali from May 21-27.

The Oilers qualified for the Basketball Africa League (BAL) after beating Urunani in the Third-Place playoff game in Elite 16 Division East Group F at the Ellis Park Arena in Johannesburg on Sunday last year in November.

City Oilers BAL Squad – Tonny Drileba, Jimmy Enabu, Ivan Muhwezi, Fayed
Baale, Titus Lual Odeke, James Okello, Edrine Walujjo, Abdulhakim Ghedi, Germaine Roebuck Jr, William Ngor, Fallando Jones, and James Justice Jr.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *