Uganda Cup: Police Eject Holders BUL to Reach Semis

Wednesday 12th April

Police FC 2-1 BUL

FUFA Big League side Police FC booked a place in the Stanbic Uganda Cup Semi finals after getting rid of champions BUL FC at Kavumba Recreation Ground in the Quarter finals.

An Own goal from Pascal Ngobi and Ronald Sempala inspired Police FC to a 2-1 victory over BUL FC who took an early lead through Anthony Mayanja.

The result piles more misery on BUL FC who have only won one game since the departure of Head coach Alex Isabirye to Vipers.

A 1-0 victory at Onduparaka in the Uganda Cup is the only win they show this year.

For Police FC, it’s a huge boost to eliminate the defending champions and they are guaranteed at least Sh12M in the Semi final.

Mayanja broke the deadlock under two minutes to give BUL a perfect start after chest controlling a Hillary Onek long ball.

Apart from the early goal, the rest of the first half was cagey as both sides struggled to pose much threats.

In the 57th minute, Police FC restored parity through Ngobi’s own goal after initial Ssemugabi Jackson header hit the post off a long ball from Goalkeeper Davis Mutebi.

Seven minutes later, Sempala headed Police in front freely connecting with Denis Kalanzi scooping ball out of the Goalkeeper’s reach from the post.

The hosts were close to adding to their tally but Kalanzi’s close range header missed by just a few inches.

BUL FC will shift their attention to the Startimes Uganda Premier League and their next game will be on Friday 21st April away to Busoga United at Kakindu stadium.

While Police FC will take on Soroti City in the FUFA Big League on Sunday.

Stanbic Uganda Cup action returns on Friday as Vipers welcome Calvary at Kitende.

Line Up
Police FC XI: Davis Mutebi (GK), Joseph Ssentume, Tonny Kiwalazi, Ronald Sempala, George Owalamu, Kateregga Benaldo, Jakony Daniel, Muwanguzi Timothy, Ssemugera Miisi Diego, Ssemugabi Jackson, Danjuma Aliyu Ahmed.

BUL FC XI: Emmanuel Kalyowa (GK), Ibrahim Nsimbe, Douglas Muganga, Richard Ayiko, Jerome Kirya, Mayanja Anthony, Hillary Onek, Richard Wandyaka, Pascal Ngobi, Aggrey Madoi, Martin Aprem.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *