She Cranes: Oyella Back As World Cup Squad Named

Versatile She Cranes star Stella Oyella has been included in the squad that will represent Uganda at the forthcoming 2023 Netball World Cup.

Coach Fred Mugerwa Tabalo named the provisional squad of 30 players on Wednesday for the event due July 28-August 6 in Cape Town South Africa.

Oyella who plies her trade with Strathclyde Sirens, is among the three foreign based players on the squad.

Oyella missed recent National Team engagements – Test Aeries in United Kingdom and Fast 5 in New Zealand.

The other two are Shooters Mary Nuba Cholhok (Loughborough Lightning) and Peace Proscovia (Surrey Storm).

The trio will be jetting in after the completion of their League assignments.

The 27 local based players will start training on Monday this Month at Kamwokya
There are a couple of new faces on the team including Aguti Godlive (UPDF), Amiya Penlope (NIC), Nasaazi Bashira (UCU), Flavia Nalule (Police) among others.

Coach Mugerwa said that the players were selected basing on their Club performances.

The team will be training three days a week – Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday – to allow them have time with their clubs ahead because of ongoing League and upcoming East Africa Netball Championship in Nairobi.

Mugerwa revealed that the team will have a couple of practice games with the Men’s team because most of the Ladies teams have been depleted with the summoning of their best players to She Cranes.

Irene Eyalu will be the captain for now, until the arrival of the foreign-based players.

Mugerwa called upon players to be disciplined throughout the course of the Training period.

This will be the third consecutive appearance for She Cranes at the World Cup since it’s return to the tournament in 2015 after 36 years, following their debut in 1979 in Trinidad and Tobago.

Uganda’s World Cup Fixture:
July 28: Singapore 🇸🇬
July 29: New Zealand🇳🇿
July 30: Trinidad & Tobago

She Cranes provisional Squad


  1. Namulumba Christine Kango (Prisons Netball Club)
  2. Sera Zam (NIC)
  3. Aguti Godlive (UPDF)
  4. Asinah Kabendela (Weyonje)
  5. Amoding Harriet (Weyonje)
  6. Irene Eyaru (KCCA)
  7. Nassanga Shadia (KCCA)
  8. Mary Nuba Cholhok (Loughborough Lightning UK)
  9. Peace Proscovia (Storm Surrey UK)
  10. Oyella Stella (Sirens Scotland)

Midcourt players:

  1. Baagala Margret (NIC)
  2. Akello Malisera (Prisons)
  3. Nakibuule Joyce (Prison)
  4. Nakiyunga Sarah (NIC)
  5. Lunkuse Norah (KCCA)
  6. Najjuka Annet (KCCA)
  7. Achola Lillian (Weyonje)
  8. Nantumbwe Victoria (NIC)
  9. Amiya Penlop (NIC)


  1. Kadondi Faridah (Weyonje)
  2. Hanisha Muhammed (KCCA)
  3. Nassaka Shakirah (Weyonje), Nakitto Christine (KCCA)
  4. Kayeny Privas (NIC)
  5. Nassaazi Bashira (UCU)
  6. Nanfuka Stella (Prisons)
  7. Asingo Viola (Prisons)
  8. Nalule Flavia (Police)
  9. Tausi Mumena (Prisons)
  10. Shaffie Nalwanja (KCCA)
  11. Nakitto Christine (KCCA)

Technical Team:
Head Coach: Mugerwa Fred
Assistant Coach: Namuddu Sarah
Assistant Captain Irene Eyaru



One Response

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *