Vipers Cruise Past Blacks Power Under Floodlights

Vipers celebrate Karim Ndugwa’s opener. (Photos by Sports Lens)

Saturday, April 8
•BUL 1-2 Express
•Wakiso Giants 1-3 SC Villa
•Vipers 2-0 Blacks Power

Vipers eased past Blacks Power in a league at St Mary’s Stadium in Kitende under floodlights.

This marked the return of Night Football in UPL for the first time since the 2018/19 season when SC Villa hosted games at Namboole.

The Venoms picked maximum points courtesy of First Half goals from Karim Ndugwa and Martin Kizza.

The duo were scoring their first goals since joining the Club this season, and the win is the first for Vipers in the league under coach Alex Isabirye.

The goal was scored inside the opening 10 minutes when Ndugwa headed in after Issa Mubiru’s cross was slightly touched on by Yunus Sentamu.

Kizza got his first in the 27th minute when he collected from Bright Anukani to fire from outside the box far beyond Tonny Kyamera’s reach.

The Venoms were the better side throughout the contest and could have won by a better margin.

Abubakar Lawal was denied by the post in the third minute, Sentamu failed to beat Kyamera at close range, with the goalkeeper also easily denying Kizza.

The Visitors also had some good spells including a canceled Michael Siwu goal for offside at the hour-mark.

Vitalis Tabu also had a good opportunity on goal inside the first half but couldn’t find the target.

Vipers leapfrogged BUL in third place after moving to 32 points, five below second placed KCCA who have played a game more.

SC Villa who have played 21 games, four and three more than Vipers and KCCA in that order, lead the table with 43 points.

What Next – Vipers visit Arua Hill in a rescheduled league fixture on April 14 while Blacks Power will host Maroons on April 18 at Barifa.

Team Lineups

Vipers – Denis Kiggundu, Rogers Torach, Hilary Mukundane, Ashraf Mandela, Isa Lumu, Nzau Lutumba, Bright Anukani, Martin Kizza, Karim Ndugwa, Yunus Sentamu, Abubakar Lawal

Blacks Power – Tonny Kyamera, Ivan Okello, Daniel Otim, Ahmed Amayo, Vitalis Tabu, Franco Onen, Michael Siwu, Ivan Nambafu, John Paul Acire, Robert Eseru, Jackson Wabuleeta



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *