UPDF Rally From Down to Stun Arua Hill

Tuesday 5th April
UPDF 3-1 Arua Hill
Gadaffi 0-0 Busoga United
Onduparaka 2-0 BUL
Villa 1-0 Bright Stars

UPDF came from a goal down to overcome Arua Hill in the UPL game at Bombo Barracks Ground.

Kasozi Samson, Ivan Ahimbisibwe and Nsimbe Badru Jibril were on target for UPDF to inspire the comeback.

Jacob Kamwesiga had earlier headed the visitors in front.

This, is UPDF’ first win over Arua Hill in four attempts.

The Army side have now won three consecutive matches for the first time this season.

Arua Hill registers their third defeat of the second round out of four.

Kamwesiga broke the deadlock for the visitors in the 4th minute heading home a Gadafi Wahab freekick.

The hosts looked more threatening after going behind but were not clinical enough to bury their chances.

Yiga Frank was close on two occasions but all his attempts went over the bar before Mugisha Rogers’ strikes were blocked by Toha Rashid and Vuni Bright respectively.

The hosts dominance finally paid off in the 40th minute when Kasozi header went past the Goalkeeper off Mugisha’s corner kick to restore parity.

Ahimbisibwe doubled the host’s lead with a free header from a Mugisha’s well taken delivery at the stroke of halftime.

Arua Hill looked for an instant response in the second half but Kamwesiga’ header went wide to the far post.

UPDF would have added their tally but Richard Matovu cleared the ball off the line to deny Yiga after Goalkeeper Richard Anyama failed to handle the ball.

Nsimbe made it three from the resultant corner tapping home from close range off a Yiga low cross in the 80th minute.

UPDF remain 12th on the log with 21 points after 20 matches while Arua Hill drops to 7th with 27 points in 18 matches.

Next Matches
UPDF will take on KCCA at MTN Omondi Stadium on Sunday 9th April while Arua Hill will host URA on Saturday 8th at Barifa Ground.

Line Up

UPDF XI: Were Derrick (GK), Kawagu Christopher, Oyirwoth Daglas, Samson Kasozi, Bernard Muwanga, Okello Donato, Ibrahim Wammanah, Yiga Frank, Mugisha Rogers, Ivan Ahimbisibwe, Nsimbe Jibril

SUBS: Mabuya Simon (GK), Ssegujja Swalik, Adriko Rogers, Katende Ezekiel, Zzinda Hussein, Farid Rashid, Kyeyune Abasi.

Arua Hill XI: Richard Anyama (GK), Atendele Geriga, Richard Matovu, Bright Vuni Joseph, Rashid Toha, Gibson Adinho, Gadafi Wahab, Jacob Kamwesiga, Allan Mugalu, Isaac Ogwang, Dickson Niwamanya.

SUBS: Rogers Omedwa (GK), Paul Musamali, Brian Omirambe, Reagan Mpande, Faizul Ibrahim, Ibrahim Musa



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *