URA Beaten On Return To Lugazi

Uganda Premier league
Saturday March 25th

*URA 1-2 Busoga United

Busoga United came from a goal down to pick a 2-1 win over URA FC in a league game held at the Mehta Stadium, Lugazi on Saturday.

URA had earlier taken the lead through their forward Living Kabon in the first half.

But Bashamu Mugwa levelled matters before the break and also scored the winning goal in the second half to ensure that his side completed a come back.

It was a vital win for Busoga United as they seek to save their season. They now moved to 18 points in the 12th position.

For URA, it was a poor day for them on their return to Mehta Stadium.

On Saturday, the Tax Collectors earned a dream start when Kabon put them ahead in the 24th minute, looping over goalkeeper John Okurut after a pass from Nicholas Kabonge for the game’s opening goal.

But the Visitors later levelled matters at the stroke of half time through Mugwa as they started their come back.

At the restart of the second half, it was the hosts that showed early intent of restoring their lead.

Nicholas Kabonge and Living Kabon came close but were all denied on different occasions.

And in the run of play, Mugwa scored the second for the Visitors at the hour mark to send the visiting fans into wild celebrations. His goal could later turn out winner.

URA tried to stage a come back with the introduction of Viane Ssekajugo and Ibrahim Dada, but nothing couldn’t find a breakthrough against a well organized Busoga United backline.

And in the end, Busoga United held on to pick all the needed points away from home.

The win, seventh for Busoga United this season ensured that they moved to 18 points after 18 games in the season.

For URA FC, the loss ended their good run ever since the start of the second round. It was also a big blow to URA, who are chasing a better finish this season.

Team Lineups

URA FC – Hannington Ssebwalunyo GK, Hudu Mulikyi, Justin Opiro, Nicholas Kabonge, Alfred Leku, Living Kabon, Derrick Ndahiro, Patrick Mbowa, Joshua Lubwama, Saidi Kyeyune, Eric Ssenjobe

Busoga United- John Okurut GK, Laban Tibita, Charles S Mulanda, Isaac Isinde, Peter Onzima , Herbert Onyango, Thomas Ochungo, Fredrick Ngalo, Isaac Daka Mweru, Bashamu Mugwa, Benon Tahomera



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *