Uganda Cup: Express Ease Past Paidha Black Angels

Wednesday, March 15
*Express 4-0 Paidha Black Angels
*Onduparaka 0-1 BUL

Joint Record champions Express cruised past West Nile Regional League side Paidha Black Angels with a convincing 4-0 victory at Wankulukuku in the Uganda Cup round of 16.

A brace from Boban Zirintusa and a goal each from Ssekyanzi Faisal and Anwar Ntege saw the Red Eagles reach the Quarterfinals in style.

Defensive mistakes from Paidha Black Angels gifted Express with easy three first half goals.

Express took an early lead in the 7th minute through Ssekyanzi who reacted quickest to tap in a rebound from close range after the Goalkeeper fumbled with Anwar Ntege’s strike.

In the 33th minute, Zirintusa doubled the hosts’ lead with a free header off Allan Kayiwa delivery after a miscommunication between the Goalkeeper and the defender who poorly cleared the ball.

Zirintusa completed his brace, tapping from close range after Kayiwa’s volley hit the woodwork with five minutes to the halftime break.

Paidha Black Angels looked a rejuvenated side in the second half and were unlucky not to find the back of the net.

Later, Ntege extended the hosts’ advantage when he rounded off the defenders to pounce home.

Goalkeeper Tumusiime Mugisha who came on for Oyirwoth Jonathan in the second half pulled off some decent saves for the visitors to deny the hosts.

Express joins Vipers, Bright Stars and BUL in the quarter finals.

Express will take on Gadaffi on 19th March in the UPL while Paidha Black Angels will shift their focus to the West Nile Regional League against Ocoko United on Sunday 18th.

Action return on Friday with KCCA welcoming Big League side Mbarara City at Lugogo.

*Team Sheets*

Express XI: Kimera Abdul (GK), Joseph Dhata, Derrick Ngoobi, Arthur Kiggundu, Faisal Ssekyanzi, Enock Sebaggala, Allan Kayiwa, Hussein Ssenoga, Boban Zirintusa, Anwar Ntege, Isma Kawawulo

SUBS: Otim Denis(GK), Andrew Kaggwa, Daniel Shabene, Denis Otim, Joshua Musoke, Ivan Mayanja, Marvin Oshaba.

Paidha BA XI: Oyirwoth Jonathan (GK), Odongo Charles, Pimundu Vincent, Agenrwoth Haward, Cheka Sabiri, Odongo Chris, Oyirwoth Desmon, Bahati Jonathan, Opar Jacob, Lutakome Juma, Otwii Victor.

SUBS: Tumusiime Mugisha (GK), Jalgoi Brian, Odagiu Khalid, Muber Jimmy, Mungumio Allan, Opakrwoth Benjamin, Oree Douglas



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *