Masaza Cup: Busiro Beat Buddu To Clinch Maiden Title

Saturday, March 4
*Busiro 2-1 Buddu

Busiro have won their first ever Masaza Cup title after a deserved 2-1 win over Buddu in an epic final played at Muteesa II Stadium in Wankulukuku.

Substitute Kafumbe Masuudi scored late in the game to silence a sizeable Buddu crowd.

Buddu earlier levelled matters at the stroke of halftime through Denis Kalanzi after Isaac Ofoyrwoth had opened matters.

It has been a long wait for Busiro who were beaten by 2019 final in final by Bulemeezi.

They are deserved winners after a strong run that included eliminating Ssingo 4-3 on aggregate in the semifinals.

Buddu celebrating their equaliser. (Sports lens)

“I have not won this as an individual, it has been a combined effort from the manager, players, fans and everyone,” briefly noted an excited Busiro Coach Simon Peter Mugerwa.

Ofoyrwoth scored from close range in the 42nd minute after Buddu goalkeeper Nazir Kibuule mistimed a lofty cross.

Action at Wankulukuku

But the lead was short-lived when Buddu leveled at the stroke of halftime after a good header from Kalanzi.

The goal was strongly contested by Busiro and their technical staff, arguing that Kalanzi was in an offside position when he headed in.

Busiro Starting XI

Busiro came back the stronger side and asked plenty of questions before the doors opened for Kafumbe.

For Buddu, it’s a failed attempt to become the first team to ever defend the Masaza Cup title.

They were the second best side on the day, but had some good moments earlier in the game including Kalanzi who shot over with a keeper-to-beat opportunity.

This, is a fourth time Buddu is beaten at the final, having won two titles including last year in Kitende.

Busiro takes Sh12m for their victory, and will host the opening game of the 2023 campaign which might give them a chance to have the Kabaka after His Majesty Ronald Muwenda Muutebi did not grace Saturday’s final.

Deserved champions – Busiro

Players Used

Busiro – Anthony Emojong, Vincent Agaku, Godfrey Alijoe, Rashid Ssemwogerere, Alex Mandela, Joel Sserunjogi, Jimmy Kalema, Ronnie Ziraba, Ivan Ofoyrwoth, Lawrence Kambugu, Akram Muzanyi

Subs – Masudi Kafumbe, Sulaiman Mutyaba, Ibra Kasenge, Simon Kizito, James Ejukei, Philip Kaggwa, Paul Nsubuga

Buddu – Nazir Kibuule, Pius Ssebulime, Reagan Kirumira, Twaha Ayman, Arnold Odong, Shamir Kimwero, Fred Atuhwere, Marvin Nyanzi, Viane Bukenya, Godfrey Seekibengo, Denis Kalanzi

Subs – Ashraf Bwabya, Jaffer Kaziro, Sharif Lubega, Badru Kabanda, Geoffrey Gaganga, Brian Omirambe, Allan Sserunga

Masaza Cup Finals
2004 – Gomba
2005 – Mawokota
2006 – Kooki 2-2 Bugerere [4-2 pen]
2007 – Mawokota bt Gomba
2008 – Kyaddondo 2-0 Gomba
2009 – Gomba 1-1 Mawogola [5-4 pen]
2010 – not held
2011- Buluuli 2-1 Bulemeezi
2012 – Bulemeezi 1-0 Buweekula
2013 – Mawokota 1-0 Ssingo
2014 – Gomba 0-0 Ssingo [[4-3 pen]
2015 – Ssingo 5-0 Buddu
2016 – Buddu 1-1 Gomba [6-5 pen]
2017 – Gomba 1-0 Ssingo
2018 – Ssingo 1-1 Buddu [12-11 pen]
2019 – Busiro 0-1 Bulemeezi
2020 – Gomba 3-1 Buddu
2021 – Buwekula 0-2 Buddu
2022 – Busiro 2-1 Buddu



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *