Maroons Extend Wakiso Giants Winless Streak

Friday, March 3
*Wakiso Giants 1-2 Maroons
*Busoga 1-0 UPDF
*Bright Stars 3-1 Blacks Power

Wakiso Giants’ winless streak continued after suffering another defeat at the expense of Maroons in the UPL game played at Kabaka Kyabaggu Stadium.

Ambrose Arinda’s own goal at the restart and Fredrick Nicholas Kigozi’s tap-in put visitors in driving seat.

Arinda pulling one back to make up for his earlier misfortune, but it proved to be a consolation.

Wakiso who registered their first goal of second round, are now winless in the three opening matches of the second round and four in total overall.

For Maroons, they have registered their first ever league win over Wakiso in the four meetings

The win also served as Maroons’ second away win of the season as they remain unbeaten in second round.

The first stanza was scrappy, with Wakiso’s only two half chances landing on Frank Ssebufu who failed to beat Simon Tamale.

In the second half, Busoga United got a breakthrough when Arinda, in an attempt for a back-pass, nodded Felix Okots’s chip past Kirya to gift the visitors a lead.

Wakiso nearly equalized but Ssebuufu’s header from Alex Kmakech’s free kick was denied by the crossbar before Patrick Bayiga’s goal line clearance.

With 20 minutes left to play, Kigozi tapped in Fred Amaku’s header from Abraham Tusubira’s corner kick to make it two for the visitors.

Arinda paid his debt and brought the hosts back into the game when he squeezed in Ssebuufu’s header at far post to make it 2-1.

Substitute Brian Nkuubi had a clear chance to kill it off in added time but with an empty net, skied an effort over.

The result left Wakiso Giants in 5th with 26 points while Maroons moved to 8th with 22 points.

Wakiso Giants will visit Blacks Powers next, on March 20, and Maroons will host Arua Hills on the same day.

Lineups Used
Wakiso Giants-Samson Kirya, Hassan Ssenyonjo, Grant Matsiko, Alex Komaketch, Lawrence Bukenya, Ambrose Arinda, Frank Ssebuufu, Rahmat Ssemakula, Shariph Kimbowa, Marvin Mukiibi, Paul Willa.

Tom Masiko, Mikdad Senyonga, Marvin Nyanzi, Bashir Ssekagya, Norman Ojok, George Kaddu, John Mukisa
Maroons – Simon Tamale, Ceaser Olega, Fredrick Kigozi, Patrick Bayiga, Jacob Okao, Micheal Etudude, Felix Okot, Ronald Orombi, Fred Amaku, Solomon Walusumbi, Abraham Tusubira.

Amir Nalugonda, Edward Kabona, Brian Nkuubi, Isaac Mpagi, Darious Ojok, Innocent Bayika, Brian Kayanja.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *