Big League: Mbarara City, NEC Share Spoils

FUFA Big League Match-Day 19 Results

Mbarara City 1-1 NEC FC

Police FC 4-0 Calvary

Kitara 1-0 Lugazi

Soroti City 0-1 Booma FC

Kaaro Karungi 2-1 Kyetume FC

Luweero UTD 0-1 Jinja North United

Adjumani TC FC 2-3 Nothern Gateway

Mbarara City and NEC FC played out to a 1- all draw in a FUFA Big League game held at Kakyeka stadium on Thursday.

Jonathan Ssewankambo had earlier put NEC FC ahead in the first half.

But Henry Kitegenyi levelled matters in the second half to ensure that his side picked a point on the day.

The draw saw NEC drop to second with now 37 points after Kitara edged Lugazi 1-0 to go top.

For Mbarara City, it was another frustrating day for them at home. They now drop to the fourth position and moved to 36 points.

The game, held at Kakyeka was delayed for a couple of minutes after a heavy down pour that left that pitch flooded.

And after a couple of minutes, the game was started but with most of the areas of the pitch still waterlogged.

The hosts, Mbarara City dorminated the opening exchanges and they scared first through Jude Ssemugabi, who saw his effort hit the upright after a nice interplay with Kitegenyi.

But in the run of play, it was NEC who scored first through Ssewankambo, who put them ahead in the 26 minutes and his goal was the difference at half time.

But just after the restart, Kitegenyi beat his marker and sent in a powerful shot into the top corner to level matters for his side.

And there on, Mbarara were dorminant, created a couple of chances with the visitors at the receiving end.

Kitegenyi and Ssemugabi all came closer to adding on another goal but in the end nothing could separate the two sides.

The draw saw NEC FC drop more points on the road and are now second on the log, level on points ( 37) with now leaders Kitara FC.

For Mbarara City, it was another poor day for them in their quest for top flight football next season. They now dropped fourth with 36 points after 19 games in the season.

Team Lineups
Mbarara City – Mugolofa Mutwalibi GK, Musisi Henry, Magombe Hakim, Mugweri Johny Rubi, Karim Ramathan, Tembo Ibrahim, Edwok Ronald, Jamie Nvule Kisitu, Kitegenyi Henry, Jude Ssemugabi, Seiri Arigumaho

NEC FC – Michael Okiria GK, Richard Ajuna, Sulaiman Oscar Ssesaazi, Tevin Kevin Kyeyune, Marvin Kavuma, Jonathan Ssewankambo, Kizza Angello, Gideon Odongo, Mato Brian, Garvin Mubutu, Ali Arshavin Bayo



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *