FUBA Elections: Nominees For Elective Positions Confirmed


*President – Gordon Gumisiriza & Nasser Sserunjogi

*VP Administration – Hudson Ssegamwenge

*VP Technical – Baker Kyambadde

*VP Finance – Aggrey Mbonye

*VP Marketing, Media & Publicity – Arnold Katabi

*Commissioner For Women – Rachel Atuhaire & Mariam Birungi

*Commissioner for Youth – Patricia Ayebare

All is set as Federation of Uganda Basketball Association (FUBA) prepares to go to polls.

The Elections that will determine the new FUBA leadership for the next four years, will be held on Saturday, March 11 2023 at Onomo Hotel in Kampala.

Uganda Swimming Federation President Moses Mwase will preside over the Elections after he was chosen as the Returning Officer.

Two of elective positions will be voted for as the other five have only one duly nominated candidate.

Gordon Gumisiriza and incumbent Nasser Sserunjogi will face off for FUBA top seat on the D-day.

Gumisiriza of Berkeley Reloaded, was nominated by Entebbe Knight Riders and seconded by Falcons.

Sserunjogi, who also doubles as the President of KIU Titans, was nominated by Kings and seconded by Old Tymers.

It’s strong to note that only fully paid up and affiliated member clubs shall have the right to vote, and each club has one vote.

The winning candidate will require a simple majority of the cast votes to be declared the winner.

Rachel Atuhaire and Mariam Birungi (Referee) will contest for Commissioner for Women, a position held by Sandra Munduru Ulanga in the outgoing Executive.

UPDF Tomahawks Coach and Referee Baker Kyambadde is unopposed for Vice President Technical and Competition, a position which was held by Joseph Manano before he resigned.

Patricia Ayebare, Deputy CEO at Express FC, is also unopposed on the position of Commissioner for Youth, Mini Basketball and Educational Institutions, a position currently by Nam Blazers Coach Stephen Esco Nyeko.

Aggrey Mbonye (Vice President Finance), Hudson Ssegamwenge (VP Administration) and Arnold Katabi (VP Marketing and Communications) are uncontested and will retain their toles on the Executive.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *