SC Villa Overcome Onduparaka

Friday 24th February
Villa 2-1 Onduparaka

SC Villa held on to overcome 10-man Onduparaka and pile more misery on the Caterpillars after a 2-1 victory in the league game at Akii-bua Memorial stadium in Lira.

Hassan Musana and Charles Bbaale were on target for the hosts while Okocha Rashid converted from the spot for the visitors.

Onduparaka finished the game a player less after Mandela Aziz Malish was sent off late in the game.

SC Villa have now won three of the four matches they have hosted at Akibua Memorial stadium, losing to only KCCA, after the five match ban.

The Jogoos have got their second round off mark after a one all draw in opener.

For Onduparaka, it’s a blow in their quest for avoiding relegation as they are still winless away from home.

There was no much highlight in the first half before the goal with both sides struggling to get hold of the ball.

Musana broke the deadlock from a powerful freekick at the stroke of halftime after a foul on Seif Batte.

In the second half, Bida Ezra would have equalised for the Visitors but his touch was too heavy after calmly controlling Abonga Dominic long ball.

Onduparaka restored parity through Okocha from the spot following a foul on Abonga by Goalkeeper Meddie Kibirige in the 73rd minute.

However, the Caterpillars’ breathe lasted only five minutes with Bbaale restoring the hosts lead after Luggya Morris failed to deal with Fred Agandu cross to slot past Goalkeeper from close range in the 78th minute.

In the 88th minute, Mandela Aziz was sent off after a second yellow card following a foul on David Owori.

The visitors had a chance to level matters late on but Bida freekick was dealt with by the Goalkeeper.

A win moves Villa to 4th with 28 points after 16 games while Onduparaka remain bottom with 7 points.

Next Matches

Villa will return to on Saturday 5th March as they face Express at Wankulukuku Stadium while Onduparaka will host Gadaffi FC at Ababet Greenlight Stadium on Friday 4th March.

Team Sheets

Villa XI: Meddie Kibirige (GK), Oryem Tabu, Hassan Musana, Gift Fred, Kenneth Ssemakula, David Owori, Edward Masembe, Rogers Kiwanuka, Seif Batte, Bbaale Charles, Kafumbe Joseph.

SUBS: Martin Elungat (GK), Hamza Mulambuzi, Aslam Ssemakula, Fred Agandu, Oyirwoth Goffin, Pistis Barenge, Abdul Bironse.

Onduparaka XI: Angufindru Norman (GK), Adriko Gasper, Okocha Rashid, Yakin Rashid, Luggya Morris, Gama Williams, Mandela Malish, Ojara Dennis, Ivan Ssekazza, Abonga Dominic, Bida Ezra.

SUBS: Okello Mathias, Hood Kakooza, John Rogers, Odong Stephen, Oloro Nathan, Boy Fazilinho, Tony Odur, Jarieko James.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *