UPDF Hold BUL in Bombo

Tuesday 21st February
Blacks Power 0-2 Busoga United
Vipers 0-0 Wakiso Giants

UPDF and BUL settled for a one-all draw in the League game played at Bombo Barracks Ground.

The Visitors scored through Hillary Onek while Substitute Ezekiel Katende was on target for the Army side as both sides shared spoils.

Its back to back 1-1 draw in the second round for the two sides – BUL drew with Blacks Power at home and UPDF held Express in the second half opener.

The game was balanced as both sides tried to create a number of chances especially in the second half following a cagey first stanza.

Ivan Ahimbisibwe twice had the opportunity to give the hosts the lead but he ballooned both chances wide.

The first half couldn’t produce any other highlights as both sides failed to settle in the game.

However, the game opened up in the second half with both sides looking for a breakthrough.

Onek broke the deadlock in the 57th minute tapping from close range a well driven cross from Ivan Wani from blind spot though Goalkeeper Were Derrick tried to save it but it had already crossed the line.

The hosts couldn’t settle for less and they were rewarded in the 75th minute after substitute Katende restored parity.

There was confusion of who the actual goalscorer was after Ibrahim Magandaazi goal bound freekick was faked by Katende to confuse the Goalkeeper.

In the closing minutes both sides would have grabbed the winner but Ahimbisibwe was denied by Goalkeeper Saidi Keni before Katende made a clearance header to deny Oyirwoth at the other end.

UPDF are 13th on the log with 12 points while BUL remain second with 29 points.

Next Matches

UPDF will travel away to Busoga United on Friday 3rd March at Kakindu stadium while BUL will host URA on Saturday 4th at FUFA Technical Centre Njeru

Team Sheets

UPDF XI: Were Derrick (GK), Kiggundu Moses, Arafat Galiwango, Ibrahim Magandaazi, Bernard Muwanga, Ibrahim Wammanah, Kimuli Gerald, Adriko Rogers, Ivan Ahimbisibwe, Yiga Frank, Kawagu Christopher.

SUBS: Simon Mabuya (GK), Ezekiel Katende, Okello Donato, Othieno Stephen, Munir Saidi, Faridi Achumu Rashid, Zzinda Hussein.

BUL XI: Saidi Keni (GK), Walter Ochora, Richard Ayiko, Ronald Otti, Emmanuel Obua, Hillary Onek, Ibrahim Kazindula, Richard Wandyaka, Okello Solomon, Ibrahim Nsimbe, Samuel Ssekamatte.

SUBS: Tom Ikara (GK), Rwothomio Innocent, Martin Aprem, Ibrahim Mugulusi, Zziwa, Anthony Mayanja, Wani Ivan.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *