Zone V Championship Awards: Otto Named Best Small Forward

The Awards
•Champions – Egypt 🇪🇬
•Silver – Uganda 🇺🇬
•Bronze – Kenya 🇰🇪
•Fair Play – Rwanda
•MVP – Raneem Elgedawy (Egypt)
•Top Scorer – Raneem Elgedawy (Egypt)
•Best Rebounder – Madina Okot (Kenya)
•Most Threes – Nadine Mohammed Sayed (13)
•Best Five – Reem Moussa (Egypt), Nyamuoch Pidor Teny (South Sudan), Jannon Otto (Uganda), Raneem Elgedawy (Egypt), Madina Okot (Kenya)

Uganda’s Jannon Otto was named the best Small Forward (3) at the concluded 2023 FIBA Zone Five Championship in Lugogo.

Despite failing to earn the Gazelles a direct ticket to Afrobasket after defeat to Egypt, Otto proved exceptional.

She averaged 17.4 points per game, taking the gong ahead of Egypt’s Nadine Mohammed and Kenya’s Victoria Reynolds who were also outstanding.

Jannon Otto. (FIBA photos)

But there was no place for Uganda’s Brenda Ekone in the best team of the tournament despite her impressive show.

Reem Moussa, Nyamuoch Pidor Teny, Raneem Elegdawy and Madine Okot completed the Best Five which was announced on Sunday after Egypt beat Uganda in the final.


Raneem Elgedawy, who was the best power forward, was the tournament top scorer with 98 points.

Uganda’s Otto and Ekone followed closely with 87 and 84 points respectively.

Raneem was then named the Most Valuable Player of the Tournament, an Award that went to Kenya’s Reynolds two years back in Kigali.

Rwanda was given the Fair Play Award.

The award for most threes scored by an individual at the tournament went to Nadine Mohammed Sayed of Egypt after drilling in 13 threes.

Nyamuoch and Soraya Deghady (Egypt) managed 11 and 10 threes in that order.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *