Uganda Cup: Kisugu United knocks Out Paidha BA

Friday 17th February
BUL 1-0 SC Villa
Kisugu United (4) 1-1 (3) Paidha Black Angels.

Kampala Regional League leaders Kisugu United progressed to the next round of the Stanbic Uganda Cup after overcoming Paidha Black Angels 4-3 on Penalties.

The two initially settled for a one,-all draw in the normal time at Bugolobi Coffee Ground.

Matovu Bob put the hosts in front before halftime in the 40th minute.

However, the visitors restored parity with eight minutes to the end of the game after substitute Muber Jimmy equalised in the 82nd minute to force the game into Penalty shootouts.

This time round the Blacks couldn’t reciprocate what happened in the previous round after eliminating Kyetume from the spots.

The hosts scored 4 of their 5 Penalties with the captain and veteran defender Mugabi Jonathan “Dante” having his saved by Goalkeeper Oyirwoth Jonathan.

Oromchan Villa charges scored three and missed two, captain Pimundu Vincent and Jakisa Wilson missed from the spot while Goalkeeper Oyirwoth Jonathan, Lutakome Juma and Odongo Chris were on target.

Kisugu United becomes the nineth team in the Round of 16 joining Kiyinda Boys, Bunyaruguru, Kitara, Mbarara City, Wakiso Giants, Bright Stars, Vipers and BUL.

For Paidha Black Angels, they shift their focus on ensuring that they are promoted from the West Nile Regional League to the Big League.

They will face Kuluva Rainbow on Sunday 19th at Hospital View Arena in the league game.

Team Lineups

Kisugu United XI: Otim Arafat (GK), Banya Hasheem, Bashir Muweesi, Stephen Bakka, Mugabi Jonathan, Jemba Vincent, Mugisha Richard, Tabule Rogers, Luswabi Umar, Matovu Bob, Kamya Henry

SUBS: Mutumba Hadad, Katabalwa Mathias, Mbuyo Joseph Ngoga Moses, Kasumba Hamza, Musana Joseph, Ssemujju Bonny.

Paidha Black Angels XI: Oyirwoth Jonathan (GK), Odongo Charles, Pimundu Vincent, Agenrwoth Haward, Odagiu Khalid, Odongo Chris, Afoyomungu Samuel, Bahati Jonathan, Opakrwoth Benjamin, Lutakome Juma, Opar Jacob.

SUBS: Tumusiime Mugisha (GK), Jakisa Wilson, Oyirwoth Desmon, Mungumiyo Allan, Muber Jimmy, Okoth Noris, Cheka Sabiri.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *