Basketball Africa League: City Oilers Want To Compete

The 2023 BAL Groups;

*Sahara Conference – ABC Fighters (Ivory Coast), AS Dounes (Senegal), REG (Rwanda), Kwara Falcons (Nigeria), Stade Malien (Mali), US Monastir (Tunisia)

*Nile Conference – Al Ahly (Egypt), City Oilers (Uganda), Cape Town Tigers (South Africa), Petro De Luanda (Angola), CFV Beira (Mozambique), SLAC (Guinea)

City Oilers coach Mande Juruni wants his side to go deep in the 2023 Basketball Africa League tournament after learning the group opponents.

Oilers who are set to make their debut at the BAL, were pitted in the Nile Conference that will take place in Cairo due April 26 – May 27.

The Ugandan champions will face off with Al Ahly, Cape Town, Petro, Beira and SLAC.

“We are very excited and looking forward to compete and have fun while doing it,” Juruni told The-SportsNation.

“It doesn’t matter which group or which team, for as long as your in BAL, all teams at that level earn it to get there.

“But as always, we will go to compete because we want to go deep into the tournament.

“I like our chances. We are all excited to go represent our Club and Country.”

The other group (Sahara) will take place in Dakar, Senegal in March 11-21.

The top four teams from each conference will qualify for the BAL Playoffs and Finals, which will feature a single-elimination tournament at BK Arena in Kigali from May 21-27.

“I believe we have positions that need to improve,” Juruni commented when asked about the likely additions ahead going to BAL.

The side started league preparations this week as they seek to win the National Basketball League for a ninth straight time.

The Oilers qualified for the Basketball Africa League (BAL) after beating Urunani in the Third-Place playoff game in Elite 16 Division East Group F at the Ellis Park Arena in Johannesburg on Sunday last year in November.

The side had missed the previous two editions.

US Monastir (Tunisia) are the defending champions having beaten Petro De Luanda last year in May.

Oilers Fixture
*April 27: Petro De Luanda
*April 28: Al Ahly
*May 2: SLAC
*May 5: CFV Beira
*May 6: Cape Town



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *