Debutant Lele Scores Late to Deny Express

Saturday 11th February
*Express 1-1 UPDF

UPDF’s League debutant Aluma Musa Lele who joined on loan from Onduparaka, scored a late equaliser to cancel out Allan Kayiwa’s opener in the Uganda Premier League encounter at Wankulukuku.

Lele who came on for Ivan Ahimbisibwe in the 83rd minute, capitalised on a fumble in the defence to deal with Goalkeeper Were Derrick’s long ball to tap home in the 89th minute.

Allan Kayiwa scored with a free header in the 74th minute to give the hosts the lead after a goalless halftime to net his sixth goal of the campaign.

It was a game of fewer chances but the Red Eagles could have gone head when Isma Kawawulo was put through by Marvin Oshaba only to fire over the bar.

This result is reminiscent of the reverse fixture at Bombo – Express was also denied a win at the death after Kayiwa had put them infront. Then, Faridi Achumu, also a debutant, benefited from poor defending level matters.

Express FC’s winless run now stretches to eight games, they have now drawn their last four games.

The Red Eagles will feel undone after losing concentration at the crucial time of the game to pile more misery on themselves.

Despite coming back with a point, UPDF are still in search of their first win away to Express at Wankulukuku Stadium.

The Army side losing streak on the road come to an end after five consecutive defeats and they are yet to win any match on their visits this season.

Express move to 9th on the log with 18 points after 15 matches while UPDF are 13th with 11 points.

Next Fixtures

Express will travel away to URA at Nakisunga Saza Ground on Saturday 25th while UPDF host BUL at Bombo Barracks Ground on Tuesday 21st.

How they lined up

Express XI: Denis Otim (GK), Isa Lumu, Derrick Ngoobi, Andrew Kaggwa, Allan Kayiwa, Hussein Ssenoga, Marvin Oshaba, Joseph Akandwanaho, Abubaker Kasule, Ismail Kawawulo

SUBS: Abdul Kimera (GK), Joseph Dhata, Boban Zirintusa, Faisal Ssekyanzi, Anwar Ntege, Jamal Alimamsi, Denis Otim.

UPDF XI: Emmanuel Were (GK), Moses Kiggundu, Arafat Galiwango, Bernard Muwanga, Ibrahim Magandaazi, Adriko Rogers, Ibrahim Wammanah, Frank Yiga, Ivan Ahimbisibwe, Badru Jibril Nsimbe, Christopher Kamagu.

SUBS: Simon Mabuya (GK), Oscar Agaba, Aggrey Kiirya, Musa Oscar Aluma, Gerald Kimuli, Rashid Faridi.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *