AFCON U20: Final Uganda Hippos Squad Named

Coach Jackson Mayanja has named the final Uganda Hippos squad that will represent the country at the forthcoming AFCON U20.

The final squad of 25 players will leave on Saturday to Egypt where they will play a couple of friendly matches.

The Hippos are pitted in Group B alongside Central African Republic, South Sudan, Congo for a tournament due February 19 to March 11 2023.

A couple of players have been dropped including goalkeeper Venacious Nsumba of Wakiso Giants.

Foreign-based players Kiano Kitariko, Abdu Shakur Ramsey Jemba and Shaun Ssenkubuge have all not made the final cut.

And there is no place for Hassan Mubiru (Express) and KCCA duo of Faisal Wabyoona and Pius Ssebulime.

The final traveling 25-man Squad to Egypt


Abdu Magada (Gaddafi FC)
Kamya Shamulan (Soltilo Bright Stars FC)
Oyo Delton (SC Villa)


Lukwago Haruna (KCCA FC)
Opiru Justine (URA FC)
Samson Kasozi (UPDF FC)
Ronald Madoi (Wakiso Giants FC)
Kakogwe Apollo (Wakiso Giants FC)
Rogers Torach (Vipers SC), Umar Lutalo (SC Villa), Ibrahim Juma (Leganes CD, Spain)


Saidi Mayanja (KCCA FC)
Frank Katongole (St. Mary’s, Kitende), Isma Mugulusi (Makedonikos FC, Greece),
Titus Ssematimba (Wakiso Giants FC)
Travis Mutyaba (SC Villa), Mutebi Hakim (SC. Villa), Ivan Irinimbabazi (Soltilo Bright Stars FC)


Rogers Mugisha (UPDF FC)
Kakande Patrick Jonah (SC Villa), Issa Bugembe (Soltilo Bright Stars FC),
Magogo Shafiq (UPDF FC)
Dembe John Paul (KCCA FC U20), Alpha Ssali (Proline FC), Emmanuel Mukisa (Kataka FC)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *