UOC Commend Modern Pentathlon After Coaching Course

Uganda Olympic Committee has hailed Uganda Modern Pentathlon Federation after the new Federation held a five-day UIPM CCP Level One Coaching Course.

The course saw 16 coaches graduate on Saturday at Kampala Parents School.

UOC Chairman Donald Rukare said that the course is a stepping stone to spreading the Olympic Sport across the Country.

The Course had main instructor Yasser Hefny from Egypt.

“We are very happy that through the Uganda Modern Pentathlon Federation that we got an instructor all the way from the International Federation and Egypt which is more advanced African Country in the Sport,” said UOC Chairman Dr Donald Rukare.

“We thank him (Yasser) for coming, he has been able to pass on the skills of Level One Coaching Clinic here for the last five days and this group of 16-18 coaches are going to be instrumental in passing the Sport of Modern Pentathlon across.”

The Coaches came from Uganda Prisons, Police, People’s Defence Air Forces, Schools like Kampala Parents, Kyambogo University and Makekerere University among others.

Modern Pentathlon is an athletic Sport comprising of five individual disciplines including Swimming, Fencing, Running, shooting and Obstacle hurdles (like the Ninja Warrior setup).

The UMPF, founded on July 25 2017, is headed by Simon Peter Komakech.

“And we believe that if President Komakech and his team at the Federation can have partnerships in both Egypt and also locally with schools who have good facilities, with the forces as well, the Sport can grow.

“This is a young Federation, we believe that with this kind of start and working together it will become even bigger.

“Modern Pentathlon is very exciting, and one of the most ancient Sports.”

The Coaches Who Graduated:

  1. Mark Ogwang
  2. Brenda Masendi
  3. Christopher Edward Mbowa
  4. Brian Mukiibi
  5. Rosemary Babirye
  6. Eddie Newton Alboho
  7. Hassan Ali Achidri
  8. Allen Nakimbugwe
  9. Andrew Maurice Adolo
  10. Emily Nanziri
  11. Amose Ochola
  12. Annet Kiiza
  13. Paul Oboloko
  14. Bosco Charity
  15. Sandra Leila Drile
  16. Kassim Ssematimba



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *