Stanbic Uganda Cup: Express Through, Arua Hill Out

Sunday, February 5
*Kajjansi United 1-2 Express
*Elite (2) 1-1 (1) Arua Hill
*Bushenyi Veterans (1) 0-0 (4) UPDF

Monday, February 6
*KJT vs KCCA – Bugolobi Coffee Grounds
*Uganda Pentecostal University vs URA FC – St. Leo’s Lower, Kabarole

Express FC have progressed to round of 32 of the Stanbic Uganda Cup after overcoming Kajjansi United.

The Red Eagles won 2-1 at Uganda Clays grounds thanks to goals from Joseph Akandwanaho and Joseph Kizito (own goal).

The Red Eagles would have won comfortably but missed some decent chances including Marvin Oshaba who saw his header hit the post.

And they lived dangerously in the closing stages when Kajjansi United, who two seasons earlier eliminated Vipers SC at Wankulukuku, brought one back through Brian Muwayira with five minutes to fulltime.

Express FC

It’s a big win for Express who will be kicking off the UPL second round against UPDF FC at Wankulukuku on Saturday, February 11 2023.

Express head coach James Odoch said: “We never took this game for granted because we know how tricky Kajjansi United is and I am pleased that we are through to the Round of 32.”

“The pitch was not that good for how we play and in the second half they were dominant but we were able to hold on for a win.”

UPL side Arua Hill suffered a shock exit after falling to Northern Regional League side Elite FC, with the game ending 2-1 in the penalty shootouts after 1-1 in normal time at Lira Integrated School.

Innocent Media had equalised before halftime for Arua Hill who had Gaddafi Wahab miss a penalty in normal time.

And the Kongolos missed four penalties in shootouts to bow out in agony.

UPDF survived a scare, winning 4-1 in shootouts against Western Regional League side Bushenyi Veterans after a 0-0 draw at Bushenyi Stadium.

Elite FC, Express FC, and UPDF FC have joined a list of other in the Round of 32.

Teams At Round of 32 So far:

  1. Elite FC
  2. Express
  3. UPDF FC
  4. Bright Stars FC
  5. Onduparaka FC
  6. Mbarara City FC
  7. Paidha Black Angels FC
  8. Kigezi HomeBoyz FC
  9. Mbale Heroes FC
  10. Adjumani Town Council FC
  11. Lugazi FC
  12. Wakiso Giant FC
  13. Kisugu United FC
  14. Kyinga Boys FC
  15. Gorilla Highland FC
  16. Blacks Power FC
  17. SC Villa
  18. Police FC
  19. Vipers SC
  20. BUL FC
  21. Kitara FC
  22. Ndejje University FC
  23. Jinja North United
  24. Admin FC
  25. Junior Eagles FC
  26. Pajule Lions
  27. Bunyaruguru
  28. Blue Stars



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *