Inaugural Uganda National Badminton League Serves Off

The inaugural Uganda national badminton league was launched on Saturday 28th January 2023 at the MTN Indoor Arena in Lugogo.

The league, that is set to run between six to eight months will comprise of three categories with teams playing in different Leagues.

Six clubs will feature in the National Super league (elites), National Corporate league with six teams and the schools league.

Speaking at the event, Simon Mugabi, the CEO Uganda Badminton Association said

“Basically the good thing that the league has started, we are happy for that. What we are looking at are the ties, which can be set outs. So the winner of the tie will get the points. We are ready to see that the league can go ahead,” he told the pressmen.

According to Mugabi, the major aim of the League is to give more experience to players and game time as they gear up for upcoming tournaments.

The league, that will be held at the Lugogo Indoor Arena will be played on a round robin format on a home and away basis.

The three categories will have the singles, doubles, and mixed doubles and a team that wins the tie will be awarded three points and for a draw each side taking a point.

The six Super League clubs

Ndejje University
CFK Patriots BC
Victoria University Warriors
Kampala Badminton Club B
Mbogo High Warriors
Kampala Badminton Club A

Uganda National Corporate League clubs teams

Kampala Badminton Club B
State House
Equity Bank
Entebbe Institute Club
CFK Corporates
Mbogo Warriors
Kampala Badminton Club A



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *