Ojara Nets Hat-trick As Onduparaka Pick First Win

Wednesday, December 21
*Ondupara 5-1 UPDF
*Express Blacks Power
*BUL 5-0 Maroons

Denis Ojara scored a second half hat-trick as Onduparaka picked their first win of the season to end the first round on a high.

Dominic Abonga and Emmanuel Oketch added a goal each as the Catterpilars won 5-1 against UPDF in a UPL game played at Greenlight Stadium.

Ezekiel Katende scored early for the Visitors but the Army side left Arua without a point.

Ojara needed only 20 minutes to finish his first ever UPL hat trick which turned out to be Caterpillars best Christmas gift ever.

The result mean that Onduparaka who still at the bottom with 7 points has reduced the relagation gap to four points while UPDF slipped to 13th with 10 points.

At only nine minutes on the clock, Katende put the visitors upfront with a beauty in the top corner after receiving from Douglas Oyirwoth.

After six minutes, Onduparaka leveled matters through Abonga who scored from Gaddifi Gadinho corner kick.

In the added minutes of the first half, Okocha converted from a penalty after he was fouled by Davis Kakaire to put the hosts in the lead.

Just ten minutes into the second half, Ojara produced a beautiful flip to beat his maker after receiving from Adriko, to extend Onduparaka’s lead.

Five minutes later Ojara scored his second and a fourth for the hosts from Abonga’s drop ball which he fired at first sight.

With 15 minutes left to play, Ojara completed his hat-trick and a fifth for his side after yet another overhead ball from Gaddafi Gadinho.

There was literally no steam left in visitors legs as they failed to register even a single shot on target in second half.

Ondupara will open its second round against URA at Green Light on February 11, while UPDF will open up with Express on the same day.

Lineups Used.

Onduparaka-Mathias Muwanga, Gadinho Gaddafi, Bernard Ndifuna, Rashid Yakin, Rashid Okocha, Alex Adriko, Dominic Abonga, Amosi Muwonge, Denis Ojara, Davis Mayanja.

UPDF-Simon Mbuya, Ibrahim Wammanah, Samson Kasozi, Rogers Adriko, Frank Yiga, Donato Okello, Denis Kakaire, Ezekiel Katende, Rogers Mugisha, Douglas Oyirwoth, Aggrey Kirya.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *