Uganda Cranes CHAN Squad: No Kayiwa, Yunus, Senkatuka

Coach Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredejovic has summoned a 35-man Uganda Cranes squad for the forthcoming 2023 African Nations Championship.

But there are major omissions including Uganda Premier League leading goal poachers Nelson Senkatuka (Bright Stars), Fred Amaku (Maroons) on seven and Vipers target-man Yunus Sentamu who has six.

Karim Ndugwa (BUL) and Express new signing Allan Kayiwa who are both on five goals, have also been left out.

But there is a place for Vipers strikers Cromwell Rwothomio and Najib Yiga – The former has one goal while the latter has barely commanded minutes.

Allan Okello is not on the list because the KCCA midfielder is on loan from Algerian side Paradou, while Yunus is said to have written to Micho to express his unavailability.

Uganda Cranes were pitted in a tricky Group B that has two-time defending champions DR Congo, West African sides Senegal and Ivory Coast.

The tournament competed for by local-based players, kicks off on January 13 2023 in Algeria.

Uganda Cranes defeated Tanzania 4-0 on aggregate to seal a CHAN finals ticket for a sixth straight time.

Goals from Moses Waiswa, Rogers Mato and Richard Basangwa saw Cranes get the job done at the fully packed St. Mary’s stadium in Kitende, while Travis Mutyaba’s beauty had set the tone in Dar Es Salaam.

The Cranes Squad

Goalkeepers – Nafian Alionzi (URA), Mathias Muwanga (Onduparaka), Joel Mutakubwa (Gaddafi), Emmanuel Kalyowa (BUL), Jack Komakech (Vipers)

Defenders – James Begisa (URA), Ashraf Mandela (Vipers), Grant Matsiko (Wakiso Giants), Derrick Ndahiro (URA), Isa Mubiru (Vipers), Arthur Kiggundu (Express), Hillary Mukundane (Vipers), Kenneth Ssemakula (SC Villa), Geoffrey Wasswa (KCCA), Filbert Obenchan (KCCA), Gift Fred (SC Villa), Bright Vuni (Arua Hill)

Midfielders – Siraje Sentamu (Vipers), Moses Waiswa (KCCA), Saidi Kyeyune (URA), Hussein Ssenoga (Express), Karim Watambala (Vipers), Marvin Youngman (Vipers), Milton Karisa (Vipers), Ibrahim Orit (Vipers), Travis Mutyaba (SC Villa), Moses Aliro (Wakiso Giants), Ssenoga Kagawa (KCCA), Rogers Mato (KCCA)

Strikers – Bright Anukani (Vipers), Ibrahim Kasule (Wakiso Giants), Titus Sematimba (Wakiso Giants), Frank Ssebuufu (Wakiso Giants), Yiga Najib (Vipers), Cromwell Rwothomio (Vipers)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *