Busoga United Stun Vipers With Late Kayiwa Winner

Tuesday, December 20
*Busoga United 1-0 Vipers
*Bright Stars 1-0 KCCA
*Gaddafi 2-1 URA
*Wakiso Giants 1-1 Arua Hill

Busoga United gave themselves Christmas and New Year gifts courtesy of a 1-0 win over defending champions Vipers at Njeru.

Ibrahim Kayiwa scored a late winner in added time to cap off a shocking result.

Kayiwa scored a volley after Vipers failed to defend a long throw-in into the area, to leave the Venoms reeling.

It was a goal that ccould have been avoided but Siraje Sentamu headed Peter Onzima’s throw-in into Kayiwa’s path.

Robertinho’s side misses a chance to go top of the table after leaders KCCA FC lost to Bright Stars 1-0, courtesy of Emmanuel Loki’s goal.

Busoga United had earlier shown intent and played with conviction from onset.

Laban Tibita was denied by Fabien Mutombora after defender Hillary Mukundane cheaply gave away possession in his area, in one of Busoga’s earlier misses.

Vipers looked lazy in the final third and failed to capitalise on Busoga’s errors at the back with Ibrahim Orit heading onto the post after goalkeeper Michael Lutaaya mistimed the ball’s trajectory.

Busoga United twice cleared their lines as Vipers failed to find the back of the net.

It’s the fourth win for Busoga United this season, in a campaign where the side were deducted three points by FUFA.

Vincent Lukyamuzi’s side move to nine points, but a point adrift of safety as the first round climax.

It’s a difficult result for Vipers to take in, but expected after the side travelled without a couple of their first team players including Yunus Sentamu, Milton Karisa, Bright Anukani among others.

The Venoms remain second with 27 points, having suffered their third loss of the season.

What Next – Busoga United will kickstart their second round against Maroons on February 10 2023. Vipers will visit Bright Stars a day earlier.

Players Used:

Busoga United – Michael Lutaaya , Isaac Isinde, Thomas Ochungo, Ronald Kasamba, Doca Mweru, Fredrik Ngalo, Jeremy Matata, Laban Tibita, Ibrahim Kayiwa, Hassan Kintu, Bashamu Mugwa.

Vipers – Fabien Mutombora, Ashraf Mandela, Isa Mubiru, Bashir Asiku, Hillary Mukundane, Siraje Sentamu, Frank Zaga, Karim Watambala, Marvin Joseph Youngman, Ibrahim Orit, Cromwell Rwothomio



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *