Vipers Squeeze Past Resilient Blacks Power For Second Win

Friday, November 11
•Blacks Power 0-1 Vipers
•SC Villa 1-2 Wakiso Giants

Saturday, November 12
•Onduparaka Vs Busoga United
•URA vs Arua Hill

SC Vipers edged newcomers Blacks Power in a closely contested Uganda Premier League game at Akii-bua Stadium in Lira.

The defending champions needed a penalty to pick all points, with right-back Ashraf Mandela converting from the spot for his first goal at the club.

The penalty came after Yunus Sentamu’s goal-bound effort was blocked by Stephen Othieno’s hand for referee Ronald Madanda to point to the spot.

Mandela’s kick kissed into the inside post of the goal-frame before rebounding out, and a couple of home fans were left thinking it was not a goal.

Ashraf Mandela’s penalty

It’s a hard result for Blacks Power to take in having pushed Vipers to the edge and coach Hussein Mbalangu will feel his side could have at least walked away with a point.

They had a good chance to level matters in added time but Mike Siwu’s freekick rattled off the crossbar.

Siwu was earlier denied from the free kick by Fabien Mutombora who started in Vipers goal ahead of Alfred Mudekereza who didn’t make the matchday squad.

Stephen Otieno also wasted a good chance to find an equaliser when he skied his chance when he was picked at near post by a good cross.

Vipers struggled to exert authority in the entire game throughout but coach Robertinho will be happy with the result given the long trip to Lira was few days after they drew with Wakiso Giants (Wednesday) in their rescheduled fixture.

Karim Watambala was denied by the keeper while Yunus Sentamu fired over the free kick and later fluffed a keeper-to-beat situation thanks in part to a good save from Emmanuel Odongo.

The result leaves Blacks Power without a win in seven games while Vipers move to eight points after five games.

What Next – Blacks Power visit Maroons at Luzira on November 15 while Vipers welcome Arua Hill at Kitende on the same day.

Players Used

Blacks Power – Emmanuel Odongo, Ivan Okello, Daniel Otim, Dickens Okwir, Francis Onekalit, Franco Onen, Stephen Otieno, Michael Siwu, John Paul Acire, Mujahid Ogama, Simon Peter Otto

Vipers Fabien Mutombora, Ashraf Mandela, Issa Mubiru, Murushid Juuko, Hillary Mukundane, Siraje Sentamu, Frank Zaga, Karim Watambala, Cromwell Rwothomio, Milton Karisa, Yunus Sentamu



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *