St. Lawrence Overcome MUBS to Take First Leg Advantage

Tuesday, October 25th 2022

Semi final first leg
St. Lawrence 2-1 Mubs

St. Lawrence University came from a goal down to overcome Makerere University Business school in the semi final first leg held at Kavule, Mpigi.

Goals from Bruno Bunyaga and Micheal Kayongo ensured that St. Lawrence completed a come back against the nakawa based side.

Nazar Benjamin had earlier put Mubs ahead in the 57th minute but his goal wasn’t enough on the day.

The win ensured that St. Lawrence take an advantage before the return leg.

Throughout the first half, there was less to admire from the two sides as they failed to create clear cut chances Infront of goal.

After the break, the visitors Mubs started the better side and it paid off in the 57th minute through Benjamin, thanks to a dropping ball from Sharif Ssengendo.

But St. Lawrence responded back with seven minutes past the hour mark through Bunyaga, who benefited from a silly mistake by Mubs goalkeeper Otyengi Andrew to tap in home. Bunyaga’s goal is his 11th in this year’s competition and is the current top scorer.

Six minutes later, Kayongo made it two, heading in home off a well taken corner from Balondemu David to send the home fans into wild celebrations.

In the closing minutes, it was all for St. Lawrence with Mubs at the recieving end.

And the hosts could have scored more on a day they looked brilliant in the final third but Bunyaga and Kayongo were too wasteful to add on their tally.

Victory ensured that St. Lawrence take the first leg advantage and will need any positive result in the return leg to advance to the finals ever since 2019 when they were runners up to UCU.

For Mubs, their only advantage is the away goal they scored but they will need to be at their best against what looked to be a tougher opponent in St. Lawrence.

The two sides will meet again next week on Tuesday for the return leg at the Mubs arena in nakawa.

How they Lined Up
St. Lawrence University – Kimera Lawrence GK, Balondemu David, Nkonge Saziri, Kikambi Martin, Mulamba Blanchur, Aniku Fahadi, Kayongo Micheal, Bruno Bunyaga, Abura Micheal, Olwanyi Albert

Mubs – Otyengi Andrew GK, Wogute James, Andama Silvester, Odong Arnold, Abima Herbert, Wataikire Raymond, Wakaisuka Trevor, Ssengendo Sharif, Nazar Benjamin, Otuke Derrick, Marktoum Yusuf



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *