Two Additions As City Oilers Leave For BAL Qualifiers

City Oilers have bolstered their squad with the addition of two players ahead of the 2022 Road To BAL due October 25-30 in Tanzania.

The Oilers have on Monday left for Dar Es Salaam for the qualifiers of the Basketball Africa League.

The two additions are American-based duo of Roebuck Germine and Petty Trey Martel.

Roebuck, a 6’5” forward joins with experience having featured for Calumet College, Chinandega (Nicaragua) and Beira Mar (Portugal).

Trey on the other hand, played for West Alabama and Stillman Tigers and will be a good piece for Oilers.

The Oilers move to Dar in the wake of winning their eighth straight NBL league title.

But their roster has nine players, with Luak Ruai having moved to Russia for greener pastures, Jimmy Enabu injured while John Dombo and Davis Siagi, Emmanuel Okumu have been left out.

Oilers will be locking horns with Urunani BBC (Burundi), Hawassa City BBC (Ethiopia), Army Basket Club (Tanzania) and Matero Magic (Zambia) in Group C.

Its strong to note that Oilers were initially set to host this Group C before FIBA Africa stripped off the hosting rights due to Ebola outbreak in the country.

It’s strong to note that teams that finish in the first two places in Groups A, B, C and D will qualify for the Elite 16 Round, where they will join the six teams that qualified for the 2022 BAL season through the Road to BAL qualifier.

The remaining teams to complete the Elite 16 Round line-up will be announced by FIBA Africa at a later date.

The top six-placed teams from the Elite 16 will then qualify for the 2023 BAL Season where they will join the champions from Angola, Egypt, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, and Tunisia.

Oilers missed out last time after defeats to Patriots (Rwanda) and Maputo (Mozambique) in the 2019 qualifiers and withdrew from the second edition, citing COVID-19 in South Africa.

City Oilers Contingent

Roster – Drileba Tonny, Komakech Ben, Muhwezi Ivan, Okello James, Kizito Julius Caeser, Azolibe Francis, Petty Tray Martel, Roebuck Jr Germine, Mer Maker Moses

Officials – Mandy Juruni Lutwama, Ram Nyakana, Louis Nkwasibwe Obedi, Jackie Omurungi Mary, Mohammed Ghedi Santur



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *