Bright Stars Pick Fourth Straight Draw

Wednesday, October 19
*Express 1-1 Gaddafi
*Bright Stars 1-1 UPDF

Bright Stars registered yet another draw in a league game against UPDF played at Kavumba.

Loki Emmanuel gave the hosts the lead in the first half before substitute Abasi restored parity for the visitors in the second half.

Loki’s goal arrived in the 34th minute when he beat the goalkeeper at near post.

And the hosts we’re on course for their first when until Kyeyune equalised for the Visitors in the 81st minute with a tap-in from Ivan Ahimbisibwe.

Bright Stars had an early chance to go in the lead but Oyirwoth Daglas made a timely interception to block a Nelson Senkatuka shot.

Senkatuka could have another chance on goal after he was set free by Frank Kizanyiro but fluffed his chance.

The Visitors also got a share of chances but Rogers Mugisha, Ibrahim Wamannah, Pius Kaggwa and Ahimbisibwe were not up to the task.

And substitute Abasi Kyeyune also missed a glorious chance to level the tie earlier from a Rashid Faridi pinpoint pass but he placed the ball wide.

And Asaph Mwebaze remain without a win this season as his side move to 7th with four points from as many matches.

UPDF, welcoming coach Brian Seenyondo who had missed the season start due to his Uganda U17 national team duties, are are 5th with 5 points.

What next

Bright Stars will return to action on Wednesday 26th away to URA at Nakisunga Saza Ground while UPDF will host Wakiso Giants on Tuesday 25th at Bombo Barracks Ground.

How they started

Bright Stars XI: Hassan Matovu(GK), Andrew Kyambadde, Warren Buule, Denis Kaka Omony, Fiat Cleophas, Muhammad Kyeyune, Fiat Cleophas, Jonathan Odong, Nelson Senkatuka, Frank Kizanyiro, Mulindi Ashraf.

SUBS: Emmanuel Were (GK), Emmanuel Loki, Bob Olouch, Jafari Kaziro, Innocent Kitimbo, Derrick Kiggundu, Thiago Amis Muwonge.

UPDF XI: Ivan Mutumba (GK), Mugamba Saduru, Oyirwoth Daglas, Samson Kasozi, Ibrahim Magandaazi, Adriko Rogers, Ibrahim Wammanah, Pius Kaggwa, Yiga Frank, Ivan Ahimbisibwe, Mugisha Rogers.

SUBS: Simon Mubuya (GK), Badru Jibulilu Nsimbe, Abasi Kyeyune, Oscar Agaba, Swalik Ssegujja, Ezekiel Katende, Rashidi Faridi Achumu.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *