Sadio Mane Wins Socrates Award, 2nd In Ballon D’or

Senegal captain Sadio Mane was given the Socrates award on Monday night at the 2022 Ballon D’or.

Mane, who plays for Germany giants Bayern Munich, is the first recipient of the award that identifies the best social initiative by committee champion.

The award is named after the late Brazilian footballer Socrates who fought for Brazilian people against the Military government in 1980s.

Sadio Mane

Mane takes the award after charitable work he has done in his home country in Senegal where he recently donated $693,000 to help fund the construction of a Hospital in his hometown Bambali, 400km outside Dakar, Senegal.

“I’m really happy to be a guest tonight,” Mane said. “Sometimes I’m a bit shy, but I’m really happy to do what I can do for my people to make things better.”

The forward who left Liverpool last season, finished second behind Real Madrid and France striker Karim Benzema in the Ballon D’or, an award that goes to the best Male player of the year 2022 (August 2021 to July 2022).

Hail Mane

He had a good spell during the period, headlined by helping Senegal won the AFCON title and qualify for the World Cup, beating Mo Salah’s Egypt on both occasions.

Mane, during his period at Liverpool last season, scored 23 goals. He has scored nine goals in 16 competitive matches for giants Bayern Munich.


•Kopa Trophy (Young Player) – Gavi (Barcelona, Spain)
•Socrates Award – Sadio Mane (Liverpool, Senegal)
•Female Ballon D’or – Alexia Putellas (Barcelona, Spain)
•Gerd Muller award (Best Striker) – Robert Lewandowski (Barcelona, Poland)
•Yashin Trophy (Best Goalkeeper) – Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid, Belgium)
•Club of the year – Man City (England)
•Men’s Ballon D’or – Karim Benzema (Real Madrid, France)

Karim Benzema

Ballon d’Or results (Top 10):

  1. Karim Benzema (Real Madrid, France).
  2. Sadio Mane (Bayern Munich, Senegal).
  3. Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City, Belgium).
  4. Robert Lewandowski (Barcelona, Poland).
  5. Mohamed Salah (Liverpool, Egypt).
  6. Kylian Mbappe (Paris St-Germain, France).
  7. Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid, Belgium).
  8. Vinicius Junior (Real Madrid, Brazil).
  9. Luka Modric (Real Madrid, Croatia).
  10. Erling Haaland (Manchester City, Norway)



One Response

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *