Uganda Hippos: Masaba Stand-in Coach, Squad Summoned

FUFA has confirmed ex-international Simeon Masaba as the stand-in coach for Uganda Hippos as the team starts preparations for the AFCON U20 Zonal Qualifiers.

Head coach Morley Byekwaso has been retained as the head coach but will not be joining the team immediately due to his club duties at KCCA FC.

It’s the latest milestone for Masaba who this year joined Uganda Cup champions BUL FC as part of Alex Isabirye’s backroom staff.

Masaba was recently an assistant coach at URA FC and has been part of the technical teams of Onduparaka and URA FC.

He was one of the long serving Uganda Cranes players and also played for SC Villa and URA among other sides.

Mubarak Kiberu (goalkeeping coach) and Noah Kasule Babadi (Trainer) are part of the Uganda Hippos squad.

Uganda Hippos Squad Confirmed:

The provisional squad of 33 players has been summoned, ahead of the tournament due October 22 in Sudan.

The tournament will attract most CECAFA nations including Tanzania, Burundi, Ethiopia among others.

The target is to qualify for the 2023 AFCON finals due next year in February in Egypt.

From there, the top four teams will represent Africa at the FIFA U20 World Cup later in Indonesia.

It’s strong to note that Uganda beat Tanzania 4-1 in 2020 to win the CECAFA U20 and qualify for the 2021 AFCON U20 where they beaten by Ghana in the final.

Ivan Asaba and Ibrahim Mugulusi are part of the squad that played that AFCON U20 finals in Mauritania last year.

United Kingdom-based duo of Shemen Orakwue and Tuma Basil Tenywa alongside Tendo Nsambu (France) make the foreign based contingent, not to mention Mugulusi who just moved to Greece.

FUFA has confirmed that the Hippos will enter camp at the Cranes Paradise hotel, Kisasi on Wednesday 12th 2022.

The Squad


Abdu Magada-Gaddafi FC, Kamya Shamulan-Bright Stars FC , Nsumba Venacious- Wakiso Giants FC, Ssenyondwa Denis Kaala- URA FC


Opiru Justine- URA FC, Bugembe Issa- Bright Stars FC, Mpanga Sula- Maroons FC, Unegbu Shemen Orakwue- Houston Dynamo FC, USA, Ibrahim Juma- KCCA FC, Jimmy Ndalambi- Onduparaka FC, Samson Kasozi-UPDF FC, Ronald Madoi- Wakiso Giants FC, Mukisa Simon- UPDF FC, Nsambu Lloyd Tendo- FC Metz Academy,


Mayanja Saidi-KCCA FC, Allan Kiggundu- BUL FC, Katongole Frank-St Mary’s Kitende, Mugulusi Isma- Makedonikos FC, Greece, Nyanzi Marvin- Wakiso Giants FC, Andrew Kawooya- KCCA FC, Wabyoona Faisal- KCCA FC, Thomas Kakaire- Mbarara City FC, Mutebi Hakim- St Mary’s Kitende, Umar Lutalo- SC Villa, Muhammad Nsereko- SC Villa, Kasinde Ibrahim- Bright Stars FC, Asaba Ivan- Vipers SC, Tuma Basil Tenywa- Reading FC, UK, Lukwago Haruna -KCCA FC


Kyeyune Abbas- UPDF FC, Emmanuel Mukisa- Kataka FC, Iddi Abdulwahid- Unattached, Oscar Mawa- Unattached



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *