Muwawu Ends Two-year Goal Drought as Blacks Power hold Bright Stars

Tuesday 11th October

Maroons 0-0 Wakiso Giants
Blacks Power 1-1 Bright Stars

Striker Muwawu Faisal scored his first goal in the top flight since 2020 as his new side Blacks Power played out a one all draw with Bright Stars in the Uganda Premier League game played at the Akibua Memorial stadium.

Muhammad Kyeyune was on target for the visiting Bright Stars.

Muwawu gave the hosts the lead in the 32nd minute to score the first ever goal for Blacks Power in the Uganda Premier League.

However, the hosts’ lead didn’t last long after the visitors equalised through Kyeyune after just a minute.

Despite the stalemate, Muwawu will be the most relieved player after netting his first goal in two years.

The last time he saw the back of the net was on 7th March 2020, when his 33rd minute strike gave Villa all the points away to Tooro United.

Muwawu never scored a goal for Gaddafi in his season spell there.

His goal has also earned Blacks Power their first point in the top flight after losing the opening two matches without seeing the back of the net.

Both sides remain winless after three matches but Bright Stars are still unbeaten having drawn all their games.

The two sides have also scored their first goals of the season.

Blacks Power sits 13th with 1 point after 3 matches while Bright Stars are 6th with 3 points.

What next

Blacks Power will travel away to Wakiso Giants on Friday 21st at the Kabaka Kyabaggu Stadium while Bright Stars will host UPDF on Wednesday 19th.

How they Started

Blacks Power XI: Emmanuel Odong (GK), Opio Simon Misaki, Daniel Otim, Ahmed Amayo, Franco Onen, Stephen Othieno, Michael Siwu, John Paul Acire, Baden Mujahid, Muwawu Faisal, Bronson Nsubuga.

SUBS: Tonny Kyamera (GK), Omagor John, Dickens Okwir, Francis Onekalit, Mukiibi Ali, Jimmy Ndalambi, Otto Simon Peter.

Bright Stars XI: Hassan Matovu (GK), Andrew Kyambadde, Warren Buule, Denis Kaka Omony, Fiat Cleophas, Thiago Amis Muwonge, Muhammad Kyeyune, Jonathan Odong, Emmanuel Loki, Alex Mandela, Kato Frank.

SUBS: S. Kato (GK), Ibrahim Kasinde, Nelson Senkatuka, Noordin Bunjo, Yasin Mugume, Sharif Nsereko, Kamya.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *