AFCON U23: Foreign-based Players Headline Uganda Kobs Squad

The squad for Uganda Men’s National U23 Football team (the Uganda KOBs) that will face Guinea in the 2023 AFCON U23 Qualifiers has been summoned.

The team that will be coached by Milutin Micho Sredejovic, will be fueled with a couple of foreign based players.

Uganda will face Guinea away in a match that will be played in Tanzania before hosting them at Kitende later this month.

Musa Ramadhan (FC Cincinnati, USA), Kakooza Derrick- (Valmiera FC-Latvia), Serwada Steven – (New York Red Bull, USA) and Kayondo Abdu Aziizi (Real Monarchs (USA) will boost the squad.

Gavin Kizito Mugweri who just joined Egyptian side Al Ittihad and Byaruhanga Bobosi who is moving to Elite Falcons FC in UAE, have been included in the provisional squad.

The team will enter residential camp on Wednesday, October 12 at the Cranes Paradise Hotel in Kisasi, FUFA has confirmed.

The same squad has also been lined up for the Uganda Cranes Regional Tour of Northern Uganda with the match to be played on Saturday 15th October 2022 at Pece Stadium.

What You Need To Know?

If Uganda advance to third round, they will battle winner of Nigeria Vs South Sudan/Tanzania.

South Sudan meet Tanzania at the first round, with the winner meeting Nigeria at the second round.

The third round ties will be played in March next year, with the winners of the seven ties booking tickets to Morocco.

The U23 AFCON tournament will feature eight teams including Morocco who are confirmed as hosts.

It will also act as a qualifier for the 2024 Olympic Games that will be held in Paris, France.

The top three teams (finalists and bronze winner) will qualify for the Olympics.

The Squad

Fahad Emuran- (Kibuli SS), Atugonza Tony (Buddo SS)
Lukuya Kenneth-(Wakiso Giants)

Defenders: Kizito Mugweri Garvin–(Itihad FC-Egypt), Begisa James Penz – (URA FC), Onek Hillary –(BUL FC) , Kayondo Abdu Aziizi-(Real Monarchs (USA), Ssemayange Simon- (Bright Stars), Semakula Kenneth –(SC Villa), Musa Ramadhan-(FC Cincinnati-USA), Jacob Okao-(Maroons FC), Torach Rogers (Vipers SC)

Midfielders: Baligeya Simon- (URA FC), Byaruhanga Bobosi – (Elite Falcons FC (UAE), Serwada Steven – (New York Red Bull-USA), Ssekaja Davies (Sc Villa)

Abdalla Salim, (URA FC), Ssematimba Titus –(Wakiso Giants), Bogere Ivan- (SC Villa), Ssenoga Muhammed Kagawa (KCCA FC), Mugisha Rogers-(UPDF FC), Sebyala Shafik, (Express FC), Jarieko James – (Onduparaka FC), Oketch Emmanuel- (Onduparaka FC), Kamwesiga Jacob –(Arua Hills SC), Basangwa Richard -, (Gaddafi FC), Kakooza Derrick- (Valmiera FC-Latvia), Ssebuufu Frank-(Wakiso Giants FC) and Umar Kyebatala (Maroons FC)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *