Africa T20 Cup: Cricket Cranes Seek Perfect Start

Thursday, September 15
•Uganda Vs Botswana

The Cricket Cranes will hope to get off the mark in their first game against Botswana at the Africa T20 Cup at the Main Field in Benoni, South Africa.

After finished fifth at the ICC T20 World Cup Qualifiers in Zimbabwe and failing to progress past the Challenge League B in Jersey, the Africa T20 Cup hands Cranes a chance to redeem themselves.

And coach Laurence Mahatlane has almost a similar squad save for the return of captain Brian Masaba and the addition of four new debutants Alpesh Ramjani, Joseph Baguma, Ismail Munir and Pascal Murungi.

Uganda will fancy their chances against Botswana, having won the last meeting in 2019 during the ICC Men’s T20 Africa Region Finals of the World Cup Qualifiers.

Then, Uganda won by 52 runs in Lugogo, thanks to a batting partnership of wicket-keeper Arnold Otwani and Roger Mukasa.

Only three players on Uganda’s current squad were part of the team that faced Botswana then – Assistant Captain Deus Muhumuza, “old guard” Frank Nsubuga, and Riazat Ali Shah.

Botswana on the other hand has almost 50% of the 2019 squad intact, with Captain Karabo Motlhanka still calling the shots, but with new faces as well including Zain Abbasi, Valentine Mbazzo, Boateng Maphosa and Sooraj Kollery among others.

Botswana is currently ranked 44th in the ICC Men’s T20I team rankings, 18 spots behind Lawrence Mahatlane’s cranes who are ranked 26th.

Uganda will miss Dinesh Nakrani, Ronak Patel, and Frank Akankwasa who did not travel with the team to South Africa.

After the game, Uganda will take a one-day break before returning to action against Ghana on the 17th at the same venue, followed by Mozambique in their final group game.

Group A comprises Uganda, Botswana, Ghana, and Mozambique, while Group B consists of Kenya, Nigeria, Cameroon, and Malawi.

The tournament will be played in a single round-robin format, at the end of which, the top two teams from each group will go head to head in the knock-out stages of the inaugural edition of the ACA Africa T20 Cup.



  1. Brian Masaba (Captain), 2. Deus Muhumuza, 3. Frank Nsubuga, 4. Kenneth Waiswa, 5. Cosmas Kyewuta, 6. Juma Miyagi, 7. Alpesh Ramjani, 8. Joseph Baguma, 9. Pascal Murungi, 10. Munir Ismail, 11. Fred Achellam, 12. Henry Ssenyondo 13. Riazat Ali Shah, 14. Simon Sessazi, Coach Lawrence Mahatlane.


  1. Karabo Motlhanka, 2. Vinoo Balakrishnan, 3. Zain Abassi, 4. Valentine Mbazo, 5. Boateng Maphosa, 5. Mmoloki Mooketsi, 6. Shayan Ali, 7. Leono Maphane, 8. Drhuvkumar Maisuria, 9. Inzimamul Master, 10. Phemelo Silas, 11. Sooraj Kollery, 12. Thathayaone Tshose, Coach Joseph Angara.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.