National Rugby 7s: Heathens Triumph in Entebbe

Saturday, August 13
•Heathens 12-10 Jinja Hippos

Heathens were crowned champions of Entebbe Circuit after a hard fought win over Jinja Hippos at the ongoing National Rugby Sevens.

Heathens were 12-10 winners in a closely contested final at the Namate Works Ground in Entebbe.

They however needed to come from down after Tawfik Bagalana put Hippos in the lead at the break with unconverted Try.

The day’s MVP Joaquin Chisano and Trevor Ochan each crossed over to hand Heathens a 12-05 lead, before surviving nervy moments after Denis Etwau scored a try for the Jinja side.

It was a long-waited triumph for Heathens who started the second National circuit with a 24-00 win over Warriors in the group.

They then dispatched Boks 31-00 before sharing spoils with Pirates 07-07.

Heathens ousted defending champions 21-14 in the Quarters before rolling over Pirates 31-00 in the semis to storm the final.

Jinja Hippos on the other hand, eliminated Buffaloes 22-07 and Impis 17-05 at the semi and quarters respectively to reach the final.

It was a deserved triumph for Heathens who finished sixth in the first Circuit last weekend in Bweyogerere at the Wakiso Circuit.

They move second with 34 points, three adrift of leaders Pirates while Buffaloes a d Hippos are joint third with 32 points.

KOBs are seventh with 20 points, below Impis (31) and Rams (30).

After a week-long break, all roads will lead to Arua for the third circuit before Kings Park, Fort Portal, Jinja and Kyadondo legs.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.