Lwakataka Closes In On NRC Title

Ponsiano Lwakataka is on the verge of winning the 2022 National Rally Championships.

This is after the Mafu Mafu racer finished second in Masaka at the Bwera Bistro SMC Challenge Rally.

Lwakataka, with his Navigator Paul Musaazi, came second in a time of 1:07:36.

NRC title defender Duncan Mubiru, in his Ford Fiesta, won the event after clocking 1 hour, six minutes and 36 seconds.

Ronald Ssebuguzi completed the podium places in the fifth round of the NRC.

Lwakataka now leads the NRC leaderboard with 332 points, which is 124 points above Umar Dauda in second.

Lwakataka who won in Mbarara and Kaliro will need to finish in top five in the remaining rounds – SMC (September) and MOSAC (December).

NRC Leaderboard

  1. Ponsiano Lwakataka – 332
  2. Umar Dauda – 208
  3. Jonas Kansiime – 201.5
  4. Byron Rugomoka – 184
  5. Aine Sodo – 155
  6. Mark Lubega – 155
  7. Jas Mangat – 140
  8. Duncan Mubiru – 110



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *