CHAN Qualifiers: Lumala, Yunus In Uganda Cranes Squad

Uganda Cranes coach Milutin Micho Sredejovic has included Vipers new signing Lumala Abdu and striker Yunus Sentamu in squad that will start preparations for the CHAN Qualifiers.

The CHAN is a tournament that features only local-based players, and Lumala who has just joined Vipers, is now eligible.

The winger who made his Cranes debut on 9 June 2019 in a friendly against Turkmenistan, had hinted about his International retirement after he was recently dropped by Micho in September last year.

Yunus on the other hand, was a centre of attention after he was left out of the AFCON Qualifiers, before snubbing a late call, with many citing his deteriorating relationship with FUFA.

And it remains to be seen if the Striker will this time honour the call.

All Vipers players will join Micho’s squad after their preparations for the CAF Champions League Qualifiers.

The squad also has Moses Waiswa who recently joined KCCA from PSL in South Africa.

Uganda Target Another Return at CHAN

Uganda is among the three countries in the CECAFA region to receive a bye at the first round.

And will hence face winner between Somalia and Tanzania – The Cranes will visit the winner between 26th -29th August for the first leg.

The return leg will be played at St. Mary’s Stadium, Kitende with the winner on aggregate qualifying to the final tournament slated for January in Algeria

Micho has summoned 40 players for the tournament that is played by only the local-based players.

FUFA has confirmed that the team will enter residential camp at Cranes Paradise Hotel, Kisasi on Monday, 25th July 2022.

The Cranes bundled out of CHAN 2020 at group stage level, for a fifth straight attempt, after a 5-2 humiliating loss to defending Champions Cameroon.

Cranes Provisional Squad

Nafian Alionzi (URA FC), Richard Anyama (Arua Hill SC), Emmanuel Kalyowa (BUL FC), Denis Otim (Express FC), Mathias Muwanga (Onduparaka FC)

Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers SC), Livingstone Mulondo (Vipers SC), Najib Fesali (URA FC), Joseph Bright Vuni (Arua Hill SC), Kenneth Ssemakula (SC Villa), John Revita (KCCA FC), Walter Ochora (BUL FC), Gavin Kizito Mugweri (SC Villa), James Begisa (URA FC), Hillary Onek (BUL FC), Brian Mato (Proline FC), Ibrahim Juma (KCCA FC), Derrick Ndahiro (URA FC), Disan Galiwango (Vipers SC), George Kaddu (Wakiso Giants FC)

Bobosi Byaruhanga (Vipers SC), Marvin Youngman (Vipers SC), Siraje Ssentamu (Vipers SC), George Kasonko (BUL FC), Titus Ssematimba(Wakiso Giants FC), Saidi Kyeyune (URA FC), Simon Peter Oketch (BUL FC), Moses Waiswa (KCCA FC)

Milton Karisa (Vipers SC), Abdu Lumala (Vipers SC), Travis Mutyaba (SC Villa), Rogers Mato (KCCA FC), Moses Aliro (Wakiso Giants FC), Najib Yiga (Vipers SC), Martin Kizza (Express FC), Rashid Kawawa (Arua Hill SC), Muhammad Shaban(Onduparaka FC), Yunus Ssentamu (Vipers SC), Richard Basangwa (Gaddafi FC), Oscar Mawa (SC Villa)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *