National Rally Championship Goes To Fort Portal

The 2022 National Rally Championship returns with the Fort Portal Tourism City Rally.

The event, organised by the Uganda Motor Club, is the fourth round on the NRC calendar this year.

The first NRC was held in Mbarara and Kiruhura in January won by

Ponsiano Lwakataka won the first two NRC rounds in Mbarara (January) and Kaliro (March) before Jas Mangat won the recent and third leg (Pearl of Africa) in May.

And there is much anticipation ahead of the fourth round which is due July 8-10th, as Rally return to Fort Portal after a two-year hiatus.

President UMC Paul Kabali who doubles as the Assistant Clerk of Course confirmed that the rally will cover a total distance of 194km, of which 119.5km is competitive.

The rally will have four different stages – Amabeere Ga Nyinamwiru (8.99km), Karim Hirji (9.94km), Algogo (25.6km) and Kyakaigo (special stage, 5.52km).

“We designed these stages and routes with safety in mind,” Kabali stated.

“Fort Portal is all about having fun, and the event is a mixture with tourism so we call up on fans to come in large numbers.

“We are confident that it will be enjoyable to the drivers as well, and we have given many viewing points to the fans.”

Next Media headline a long list of sponsors that include Hariss International (Rockboom), Kalya Courts Hotel, Roke15, Baks Bakery, Racers bar, Fig Tree Restaurant, Fire and Safety Appliances, Kyakaigo, Home and Bliss among others.

It is strong to note that Drivers were awarded half the points at Round Two (Kaliro) after the event was not covered 75%.

Lwakataka leads the NRC standings with 262 points, Jas Mangat has 140 while Yassin Nasser is on 98.

*Entries for Fort Portal Rally so far:

1.Patrick Ruyonga/Another – Toyota Fx

2.Mustapha Mukasa/Mildred Kibuuka- Subaru Impreza N12

3.John Barrows Lumu/Joseph Lutalo- Subaru Impreza N14

4.Jonas Kasiime Matayo/Ivan Tushabe- Mitsubishi Evo 7

5.Samuel Watendwa/ Steven Bunya-Toyota Fx

6.Dr.Maseruka Henry/ Denis Tibenda (PDRA)- Toyota Runx

7.Julius Ssemambo/ Nagawa Diana-Toyota FX

8.Mike Mukula jnr/ Edward Kiyingi-Subaru Impreza -N12

9.Dr Nereko Godfrey/Jackson Serwanga-Subaru Impreza 2WD

10.muhammad Bwete/ Mathias Kiyaga- Mitsubishi Evo

11.Ponsiano lwakataka /Paul Musaazi-Subaru Impreza N12B

12.Mansur Lubega/Arthur Lugoloobi-Toyota Levin

13.Byron Rugomoka/ Hakim Mawanda- Mitsubishi Evo x

*Entires close on 2/07/2022*



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *